One Sexy Fruit

July 24, 2010

Looking for my giveaway?

No, I’m not talking about Neil Patrick Harris.

But isn’t he lovely?

I’m actually talkin’ bout a certain berry.

Look at that baby.

Strawberries are oh so healthy. Here’s a short list of some of the goodies packed inside these plump, juicy cuties.

-Vitamin C

-Potassium

-Folate

-Flavanoids and antioxidants

-Iodine

-Fiber

-Zinc (which is why Gillain McKeith calls them a “sexy” fruit *cough*)

-Amazing taste!

I love summer because of strawberry season. It comes and goes rather quickly, but while it’s here, I love it. There’s a strawberry farm just about a half mile away from my house… so what could be better?

Erm… chocolate, actually.

I’ll tell you something: this girl‘s got it right. Life is so much better the chocolate way. In my humble opinion, there’s absolutely nothing better than drizzling chocolate on something, especially fresh strawberries. Besides, I can say it’s good for me if I use dark chocolate. ;)

Okay, not exactly dark. But I couldn’t find anything better in the store. :(

A few weeks ago, when I discovered a rather ghetto panini press in my kitchen, this happened. I became obsessed with making warm, crisp sandwiches with gooey, comforting insides like bananas and peanut butter or pesto, tofu, and avocado. Mmm, creamy. That’s what inspired tonight’s panini.

Kahlua Soaked Strawberry and Chocolate Panini

Got your attention with the name, didn’t I? This sandwich is great for a “splurge” while still being pretty darn healthy. This would be perfect to give your date and it would probably make you look like a master chef. It’s decadent, warm, melty and chocolatey….and so much better than any panini Giada de Laurentiis might make (even if she does use pound cake instead of bread).

You’re gonna need:

1 cup of strawberries, sliced

2 tablespoons Kahlua or instant coffee

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 serving (or more!) of good dark chocolate

2 slices of whole wheat bread (I use Ezekiel bread)

First, get to work on soaking your strawberries. Just combine the sliced berries in a small bowl with kahlua and vanilla. Let it chill out in the fridge and absorb, mix, and mingle.

Don’t feel you have to use kahlua or any kind of alcohol in here – I think if they were just vanilla-soaked these devils would still be to live for. I rarely cook with alcohol, so this was a one-off splurge for me and I wasn’t even sure if it would work, to be honest. But it did. It soooo did.

It’s five o’clock somewhere.

I let it soak for about a half hour. Just be careful, ’cause you don’t want soggy strawberries!

Chop your chocolate into chunks and lay it on one slice of your bread. If it helps it stick, put a teeny amount of Earth Balance or vegan margarine on the bread. Then layer on your strawberries, a little more chocolate on top (just for good measure, right?) and pop it into a panini press.

Be patient…trust me, it might be tough, but wait it out and you shall get this:

Ooey gooey goodness.

Lemme say this: Best. Dinner. Ever.

The strawberries were warmed through and the vanilla flavor permeated throughout. That flavor was only improved by the flavor of hot, liquid crack. I mean…chocolate. And then I got to the crunchy, toasted crust that was laced with strawberry juices and extra chocolate and I think I passed out.

Because I didn’t want all of this mouth partying to end, I was inspired to have more chocolate and strawberries in my breakfast a la Katie. Hello, chocolate covered sundae for breakfast.  Um, it’s still healthy, right? ;)

Chocolate Dipped Strawberry Sundae…for Breakfast

I’ve been waiting for a chance for more strawberry banana smoothie oatmeal. You see, my precious blender that I bought over winter break didn’t even last a whole semester. The little baby was my precious green monster maker, but it sadly died in the line of duty. Being home for the summer means I have access to my mother’s fancy schmancy blender, which equals happiness.

And let’s face it, nothing is better than chocolate covered strawberries.

Git yo self:

1 frozen banana (that makes it creamy like ice cream! Trust.)

1 cup kahlua soaked strawberries (if you have leftovers…or regular old strawbz, if you aren’t feeling the ever so slight taste of alcohol at breakfast time, but who wouldn’t be? ;) )

1/2 cup of almond milk

splash of vanilla

ice

dollop of dark chocolate PB

1/3 cup raw oatmeal

Toss everything but your chocolate and oatmeal into a blender that you wish was yours but it’s actually your mother’s  (hence the need for a magic bullet, hint hint ;) ) and proess until smooth.

Pour over your oats and stir. Or pour into a bowl and top with oats. Or eat straight outta the blender.

Now the magic happens…. drizzle on just a smidge more dark chocolate  or peanut butter. Or both! My poison of choice? A teaspoon of this:

Magical.

You know, you could use One Lucky Duck’s raw chocolate truffle butter if you were to win my giveaway. Yay for plugs! Shame? What’s that?! :)

The end result was almost too pretty to eat. Almost being the key word.

What’s better than a healthy, filling, AND chocolatey breakfast?

Now I just have to figure out how to afford to incorporate chocolate into every meal for the rest of my life and I’ll be set. :)

What’s your favorite treat?

22 Responses to “One Sexy Fruit”

  1. Chelsey Says:

    oh my goodness. chocolate and strawberries in a sandwich?!?!? I love it! You made me all giddy inside when I saw that picture!!!

  2. Little Bookworm Says:

    That breakfast looks amazing! :)

  3. Faith Says:

    Oh geez, that sandwich is sex on a plate.

    I don’t think anything beats chocolate + strawberries. Or chocolate + any fruit, for that matter! Throw some nuts in the mix and I just don’t know how to act!

  4. Megan Says:

    NPH is quite a sexy fruit, I agree. But all I can say to that panini is WOW. If show up on your doorstep tomorrow, please realize it’s because I want on of these. :)


  5. OMG Lauren, that sundae is INSANE!!! Insane I tell you. Honestly, if it weren’t a random drawing, I think your sundae would win the Magic Bullet hands-down!
    Now if you’ll excuse me… *chocolate coma*

  6. sophia Says:

    oh. em. GI.

    That’s the only way to eat strawberries, I’m convinced. Why didn’t I read this post sooner? Strawberries are going out of season…nooooo!


  7. You did NOT just make a chocolate & strawberry panini! This is too good to be true.

  8. spoonfulofsugarfree Says:

    Beautiful! Absolutely gorgeous! Your chocolate strawberry sundaes and paninis are yummy-lookin! (and I bet they taste yummy, too!)

    I just got a panini maker, and I defiantly have to try a strawberry-chocolate duo!

  9. kaztronomic Says:

    I love chocolate covered strawberries. I think my heart skipped a beat just now. Wow. That looks healthy and delicious, too. I must make this soon! :D


  10. Oh my word – looks fantastic! I am a berry fanatic, as well. Probably good a patch doesn’t live down the road from me, though. They’d probably find me out there in the middle of the night with red fingers and strawberry juice running down my chin!
    I love that you soaked the berries for the panini, too. Perfect!


  11. MMMMMH! what a chocolatey post, I’m drooling over here! :D

    I love Neil too, he’s so cute.

  12. indiechic927 Says:

    I use the dark chocolate dreams butter stuff too. Very yummy. (vegan nutella, I swear.) :) but I love the healthy chocolatey-ness of this post! Delicious and nutritious! ;) (hey it’s dark chocolate. Chuck full of all those antioxidants…? Not sugar and nasty milk. ) yay! :D

  13. Rebecca Says:

    Oh my GOSH. You could have that panini for dinner AND dessert! Genius!

    DID YOU KNOW that strawberries aren’t berries? I don’t have the details – my snapple cap fun fact didn’t specify.
    Who cares though, they good!

  14. BitterSweet Says:

    That is one sexy sandwich, AND breakfast, too! Love that vibrant pink color.


  15. I was drooling the whole time I read the ingredients and the sandwich with chocolate and strawberry out of this world.


  16. That panini sounds too good to be true! Three of my favorite foods in one? Yes please!


  17. This is food heaven. Wow. That panini is making me drool and I want that sundae…like now!


  18. That looks delicious.


  19. Love NPH!

    That panini looks incredible. Mmm, strawberries and chocolate. Chocolate and bread.


  20. Looks like your site is getting alot of visitors. Are you doing any time of special coding to make your site appear so well in the search engines? Great Job!

  21. incluir.org Says:

    I enjoy read your post, good resources.thx


  22. [...] Lauren (and her exquisite Strawberry breakfast sundae) [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

