A yummy lunch.

May 29, 2010

I present to you…

Zucchini boats!

Tender baked zucchinis stuffed with broth-infused quinoa and topped with a slow cooked vegetable and bean ragout.

Dude, that sounds hella fancy. But for real, it was hella tasty. And it kind of looks like a boat, haha.

Super easy to make, too.

Zucchini Boats

Okay, I’m not too good with recipes so nothing here is really measured out for you – I’ll tell you that what I made served two people with extra quinoa and ragout left over.

Basically, what I did was cut two zucchinis in half. I then scraped out the innards (don’t throw them away!) and let the zukes bake in the 375 degree oven. While they did their thang, I threw some quinoa in a pot to boil. I cook my quinoa in a mixture of half broth and half water to give ’em a nice color and flavor. In another pot, I sauteed a sweet yellow onion with 1 clove of garlic and some carrots until they were tender. And a little brown. ‘Cause brown food tastes good, in the words of chef Anne Burrell.

Anyway, when those are ready to meet their veggie counterparts, throw in a can of diced tomatoes (make sure to buy the no salt added variety!), some tomato paste, a can of white kidney beans, corn, peas, and the zucchini innards that have been scraped out. At this point, you can really add any veggies you like. I think I added some green beans I had left over. I also threw in some grape tomatoes near the end (with some basil, oregano, salt and pepper) and they were divine. Seriously, if you’ve never cooked grape tomatoes, you’re missing out. They go all soft and kind of explode with flavor in your mouth.

Let the ragout simmer for a while on medium while the zucchini and quinoa finish cooking. When the zukes are done baking away, take them out and cool them, then fill with quinoa. Not too much, though, because you have to be able to fit the veggies on top. Once the veggies are on top, stare lovingly at the delicious looking boats you just made.

These would be great to make for a dinner party, with kids, or for impressing a cute date.

3 Responses to “A yummy lunch.”

  1. BitterSweet Says:

    Oh how cute! I love this idea, and it sounds both healthy and tasty. Doesn’t get much better than that!

  2. Carter Says:

    YUM! I can’t wait to try that!

  3. chickiepea Says:

    These are pretty! 🙂 We’ll have to try it. Love love love zucchinis for their ability to help restore adrenals.


Leave a Reply

