Do You Like Pancakes?

May 31, 2010

You can guess what song I’ve had stuck in my head all morning.

I had planned to make my dad super yummy pancakes, seeing as it’s Day 1 of his better half being thousands of miles away in England (she’s such a lucky beg).

So we came downstairs to find THIS joy..

She hasn’t peed on the carpet since she was a young’n.

Ultimate guiltface.

We figure it was because she’s mad about her beloved mum leaving for vacation. She’s staging a protest now, refusing to eat and camping out on the couch, eyes fixed straight outside the window for her mum. Poor thing. Hopefully she won’t keep that up for 2 and a half weeks.

Anyway, today was a perfect pancake morning. It was sort of dreary and cloudy outside, but not quite cool enough for oatmeal. Enter banana pancakes (and look, I actually remembered the measurements!)!

Banana Pancakes

Serves 2-3 people, depending on how hungry they are. This fed my father and I, but I made them fairly small sized.

1 1/3 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup vanilla non-dairy milk (I used almond)

1/2 cup water

1 1/2 T pure vanilla extract

2 T maple syrup or agave nectar

1 t baking powder

cinnamon to taste

1 banana, sliced

Heat up a non-stick pan and spray with cooking spray, or you can use oil. While it warms, slice your banana.

Mix all ingredients sans bananas in a big bowl. You may need to add more liquid to the batter if it’s too thick.

Once your skillet is feeling hot hot hot, start putting pancake batter in, then press in your banoonoos. You want to make sure they get all the way through the batter and touch the surface of the skillet so that they will get nice and grilled and warm when the pancakes cook.

You know the rest of the drill…. flip when you can see lots of lovely bubbles throughout, plate, top with real maple syrup (none of that icky maple flavored liquidy stuff) or the fruit of your choice and then proceed to NOM.

Me: “Dad, can you pour a little bit on my pancakes, please?”

The maple syrup then proceeds to LEAP out of the jug and drown my pancake in syrupy deliciousness.

Dad: “Oh, that came out faster than I wanted it to….”

Me: “That’s what SHE said!”

I would go there.

Have a safe Memorial Day! If you’ve got the day off, what are your plans? Dad and I were going to head to the park with the pup but it’s storming now, so we’ll probably stay in and watch junk TV 🙂

8 Responses to “Do You Like Pancakes?”


  1. oh god thanks for that song, now you know what I’ll have in my head for the rest of the day :/ lol. Awesome job with your blog thus far. I feel like we’re in the same boat on being silent followers not sure if we’re interesting enough but i say keep it up you’re doing a great job and even if no reads our stuff I’m having a lot of fun with it!


  2. AWWH your dog is too cute! Is he a pug? So adorable 🙂
    Those pancakes look brilliant too, I’ll bookmark them!


  3. I just started a blog too! It’s so hard to get it going and know if people really care? haha love the pictures of your banana pancakes though- so tempting!

  4. homegirlcaneat Says:

    EEK! I LOVE THIS BLOG OF YOURS! I lived in Tennessee for two years of high school and never ever knew the sort of food southern peeps liked! aka: fried shiz! I respect you x352523 for being a vegan down there! SO AWESOME OF YOU! 😀 And your recipes look so bomb!!! YAY new friend!


  5. sweet puppy! one of mine has occasional accidents, its so frustrating!

  6. sportyhealthnut Says:

    I just found your blog on Brit chick runs, and this post seriously almost made me pee my pants. Your hilarious, can’t wait to read more.
    -Marlee


Leave a Reply

