Road trippin’

June 5, 2010

Hey lovelies! So now I’m in the sunshine state, roasting away. For real, I’m probably the palest person you’ll ever meet and me and the beach don’t really get along too well. Same with the whole “getting up at 5:30 to get ready to drive 9 hours and only stop ONCE to pee.” Yeah.

It was around here that I realized I’d forgotten to pack my swimsuit.

And that it was time for breakfast!

Green Monster, representin’ them Tar Heels. Yeeeeah!

Into the blender went:

2 bananas

1 cup almond milk

~3 cups of spinach

ice!

Om nom nom nom.

Other unpictured eats included leftover pasta (note to self: spaghetti CAN be a good traveling food… just not when you’re on a bumpy road), a banana, and an apple.

7 hours later and I had to pee super bad. And the rain didn’t help at all. Or the fact that the next rest area was “in the next 20ish miles, or so…hopefully… I think.”

Thank goodness we finally stopped. I posted some Operation Beautiful notes in the gas station and in the bathroom.. so fun!

I always get so bored when I’m stuck in the car for extended periods of time. Luckily, my father and I were prepared with my iPod, which was loaded with Coldplay, Michael Buble, Eddie Izzard, CarTalk, Michael Buble, and Michael Buble. What do you guys do to manage your boredom? I can tell you what my adorable puppy does… sleep. : )

What a face! 🙂

“Will you STOP taking mad amounts of pictures of me, woman?!”

ANYWAY, we eventually made it to Florida and collapsed onto bed. It’s 4:42 and I’ve been here for a whole day but I still haven’t been to the beach yet. I told you I don’t like it. I did, however, make it to the gym. I was relieved when I found out that my home gym (where I go when I’m not in school) lets me work out at any other location, and the branch was just a hop, skip and jump down the road. Not worth it. It was a meat market and they didn’t even have any ellipticals. Fail. Any suggestions for workouts and strength-training-ish moves? I know I’ll be going on some runs but I don’t wanna just do cardio for a week.

Post work-out eats was a smorgesporge of fruits. Basically half a bag of grapes and a handful of AMAZING strawbezzies. While eating I made some new friends!

Anyway, sorry for the lackluster post. I’ll be sure to have a lot to talk about later on this week – I’m cooking every night as well as going out to Thai/Japanese/sushi joints. Pictures will ensue.

For now, I’m going to hightail it out of here. I don’t know how much longer I can take listening to the elderly group that is eating near me. One lady talked about how she feels so guilty for eating white bread, and I want to go over there and tell her that one slice of the white stuff isn’t going to kill her.

Toodles!

PS, I have joined the masses at Twitter. As a test run, I suppose? My username is veganomnomnom!

Leave a Reply

