Nutty Pesto Pizza

June 14, 2010

Today was a day for culinary experiments as well as epic cuteness.

Exhibit A:

A bathed puppy looking very Mother Teresa-ish.

“Please, someone adopt me!”

Hey, after a week and some change of romping at the beach and digging in sand, this dog was in dire need of a bath. And after spending a good 50 minutes elliptical-ing (thanks to Say Yes to the Dress) and 30 minutes of weight training, I was, too. But, more importantly, I needed refueling. I needed something yummy. I needed carbs.

I’m one of those people that just wants to eat an entire loaf of bread after a workout. Good, crusty, chewy bread. But I didn’t have any bread except in the form of frozen pita (and I wasn’t willing to wait hours for it to defrost) and a pizza crust. You can guess which one I went for.

Gone Green Pizza

This pizza sneaks in a good amount of green veggies. There’s spinach as well as zucchini, cucumber, and avocado. Post-workout protein (as well as omega-3 fats) came in the form of pine nuts, tofu, avocado, and the 100% whole wheat crust. There are some good carbohydrates for energy as well as a healthy amount of good, unsaturated fats. Most importantly, it was absolutely delicious. I used a ton of spinach (because the bag was on its last limbs) and a whole lot of basil because I love the flavor it gives. The avocado makes it creamy and I just added the cucumber because it was something else green! This recipe could easily cover a whole or a half of a pizza, I did half and put the remaining pesto in the fridge. It will keep well for a few days if it’s in a sealed container. Just add more tofu and pine nuts to the topping if you’re making a whole pizza.

This pesto is high in fat, yes, but fat is nothing to fear, my friends! Please make no mistake about it. All of the fats in here are healthy and natural fats. If you want to to omit the avocado, feel free to do so. However, I feel a post on the benefits of dietary fats coming…

What you’ll need for the pizza/toppings:

1 whole wheat pizza crust

1/5th of a block of extra firm tofu, cubed

a handful of pine nuts

What you’re gonna need for the pesto:

1 8oz bag of baby spinach

1 zucchini, steamed

1/2 an avocado

1 cucumber, chopped

2 cups basil, packed

3 T good olive oil

a handful of pine nuts or cashews (optional)

S & P

To make the pesto, simply place all of the goodies in the processor and whiz it up. Steam, microwave, or roast your zucchini and then dice it before putting it into your processor. It helps to find a zuke as big as your head.

Stream your olive oil in while your food processor whizzes along. You really only want to use enough olive oil to prevent the pesto from being too dry. Don’t stop till you get enough until it is smooth, almost paste-like. You may have to turn your food processor off a few times and wipe down the sides to make sure everything is incorporated.

Spread your delicious pesto onto your crust.

One half of this pizza was the mean green vegan side. Dad’s side was an experiment. I mixed sour cream with dill and lemon juice and used that as a sauce, then piled on some smoked salmon and more fresh dill. Apparently it was good, but I wouldn’t know. The whole being a vegan thing kind of gets in the way. 😉

Back to the good stuff!

Place cubes of tofu and the rest of your pine nuts on the pizza, then bake it at 400 degrees for about 20-25 minutes, or whatever it says on the back of your crust package.

And now it’s time for me to get my own shower. Hopefully no one will show up with a camera and take pictures of me in a towel afterwards. Now I know how Puppy feels…

What’s your favorite post-workout meal? Do you ever crave anything specific?

16 Responses to “Nutty Pesto Pizza”

  1. kaztronomic Says:

    Thank you for stopping by my blog today. I swear, you made my ego swell to epic proportions. Now I’ll never get over myself. xD

    I just spent the past half hour reading your blog, and I’m really diggin’ it! You have such a fun, witty “voice” and I love your attitude toward eating. It’s very refreshing. 😀 I’ll definitely be back for more.

    As for my fave post-workout meal, I always crave quick nutrients, so I tend to blend together a green smoothie to hold off the hunger-beast until I can whip something together.

  2. Kelsey Says:

    omg doggie! that is SO ADORABLE!!!!!!! omg aweeee hehe

    im loving the pesto!! wow with a big zuchinni all blended in there 😉

    LOOKS DELICIOUS LADY 🙂

  3. Coco Says:

    hi there! thanks so much for finding my blog! I browsed through some of your posts and your “about me” section, and i have to say i am impressed. You should be proud of yourself for your journey. Although I am not a vegan, or even a vegetarian, I respect your choices and I think it’s important for everyone to do what is best for them. I’ll keep my eye on your blog 🙂


  4. The puppy pictures cracked. me. up.
    And since we live close.. can you come over and make me that pizza?! Pretty please?? =P
    My favorite post-workout snack is a Larabar and an iced coffee! I’m having it right now actually!
    p.s. you’re officially on my google reader 🙂


  5. That looks sooo goooood! It reminds me of a pistachio pesto pizza I got at a restaurant around here! Definitely a must make for me

    And your puppy is cute beyond words – I just want to squeeze him (or her) lol

    My favorite post-workout snack is definitely a smoothie

  6. Katherine: What About Summer? Says:

    Is that your dog? so precious! that photo could be a postcard
    Katherine


  7. those photos are too much! ADORABLE!


  8. That puppy is freakin’ adorable! I love home made pizza! Better than take out now! My favorite thing to eat post workout is oatmeal! Just a perfect way to fuel me!


  9. That dog is precious! I am with you….I could totally eat a WHOLE loaf of bread after a workout. Actually I could eat a whole loaf of bread at any time of the day…..I’m such a carb fanatic!

    -emily @ Emilyeatsclean


  10. Oh my – how good does that pizza look! It made me hungry just looking at it!


  11. Oh. My. Gosh. Cutest puppy ever!

  12. Ellen Says:

    Epic cuteness, indeed! Adorbs.

    I usually always want oatmeal after I workout in the mornings. But eek, sometimes if I hit the gym at night, I want ice cream! And not really because I think I’ve “earned” it either…I just do..especially in the summer!

    http://www.firednfabulous.com/


Leave a Reply

