Did you hear the joke about oatmeal? It’s a bunch of mush.

June 16, 2010

“I get up in the morning, I make myself a bowl of instant oatmeal, and then I don’t do anything for an hour, which makes me wonder why I need the instant oatmeal. I could get the regular oatmeal and feel productive.” -Mitch Hedberg

Strawberry Banana Overnight Oatmeal

1/3 cup oats

1/2 cup vanilla almond milk

1/2 cup water

1 banana

1 cup strawberries

a splash of vanilla extract

1/2 t cinnamon

1/4 t xanthan gum (optional)

In a blender, add everything but the oats. Blend it until smooth, like a smoothie. In a bowl, combine it with your oats, stir, and let it sit out overnight. If you want to make it extra creamy, use strawberry or some other flavor or soy/coconut milk yogurt instead of water or almond milk.

It’s like a smoothie + oatmeal! This is a very cool, refreshing breakfast for a hot summer day. Oats are regular dorm eats for me during the academic year, when I don’t dare go to the caf for breakfast. In fact, in my entire undergraduate career, I haven’t been to the caf for breakfast once. I usually just nab as many apples and bananas as I can and stuff them into my bag. Hey, it’s not technically stealing – it’s paid for in that hefty dining bill.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

What’s your favorite corny joke?

19 Responses to “Did you hear the joke about oatmeal? It’s a bunch of mush.”


  1. LOVE that Mitch Hedberg line! He was so funny. I don’t know many corny jokes (that I can think of right now) but I love a good corny pun!


  2. That is a different method of overnight oats for sure. Does it taste all thick in the morning?


  3. lol love it! Hmmm my favorite corny joke? How about my favorite corny pick up line!

    Are you a parking ticket? Cause you got FINEEEE written all over ya!

    So do you want to date me now? haha (:

  4. solskinn88 Says:

    Hey,
    first of all : Thank you so much for your comments on my blog- they truely meant a lot.
    Your words warmed my heart, and made me feel good.
    To see you and write your posts give me hope that there is possible to recover from disorded eating, and once again live a life based on love and respect for ourselves and our amazing bodies.

    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. kaztronomic Says:

    That looks good! Hah, that Mitch Hedberg quote is priceless.

    Hmm, my favorite corny joke? Oh, gosh, I have too many.

    Two fish are sitting in a tank, and one turns to the other and says, “Hey, you know how to drive this thing?” Ba-DUM-tish!


  6. OoOh that’s a good method! I hadn’t thought about blending it before (which is weird cos I blend everything). Very clever indeed!


  7. I’ve never heard of putting overnight oats in the blender! I don’t like it the “traditional” way but I have to try this.

    As far as corny jokes go, pick-up lines are the worst. My favorite that someone actually said to me years ago “How much do you weight? I bet I could pick you up!” Umm really?

  8. BitterSweet Says:

    Haha, love the opening quote- Too true! And for myself as well. Definitely want to try your take on it though, because I’m all about getting in as many strawberries as I can while they’re in season.

  9. rc1001 Says:

    I love anything from Mitch Hedberg!

    But my favorite corny joke is this.

    What do you call a cow with two legs?
    Lean Beef

    What do you call a cow with no legs?
    Ground Beef

    Hardy har har.

  10. Anna Says:

    Lol…I LOVE Mitch Hedberg. He is so funny.

    My mom is the ultimate lover of corny jokes…I’ll have to share this oatmeal one with her ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. mangocheeks Says:

    If I shared this corny joke with my Scottish colleagues (I live in Scotland), I wonder how they would react.
    Made me smile though.


  12. Your oats look delicious! I don’t have a favorite joke, but I love the quote you posted! I actually prefer my quick oats though!


  13. I love that you blended all the ingredients before mixing with the oats…what a great idea!


  14. I love cool, refreshing summer breakfasts…they’re a must in the Phoenix desert! Thanks for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚


  15. I only know corny jokes-I have a six year old!
    My fave is “what is the best time to go to the dentist?”…………”Tooth-hurty” ๐Ÿ™‚ You have to say it out loud to really get the play on words ๐Ÿ˜‰


Leave a Reply

