You put the lime in the coconut…

June 16, 2010

….and put it on the tofu!

It sure feels like summer here in the south. I went to the airport to pick up She Who Must Be Obeyed (AKA Mum) and my sissy and the temperature was 100 degrees. No bueno. I could totally be a snowbird when I get old, and spend my summers in the mountains and winters at the beach. But since I can’t do that yet, I’ll just have to get used to the heat and survive with a tropical dish.

Lemon Coconut Tofu

Ingredients for 1

You’ll need:

1/5 block of tofu, or however much ‘fu you want

1/4 can of coconut milk

1 lemon

1 lime

S & P

sesame seeds for garnish

First, take a small bowl and mix together your coconut milk, lemon and lime juice, and the zest of the lemons and limes. Add salt and pep to taste, and then marinate your tofu in that for a few hours before you cook it.

In a heated non-stick pan, cook your tofu. Make sure the pan is hot so that you’ll get a really awesome sear and a crunchy crust on the tofu. After you’ve got that going, add in your marinade.

If it does what mine did, it will bubble up like crazy. So watch yo self.

Let that cook for a few more minutes for the flavors to marry, and then serve it over coconut jasmine rice.

To make coconut jasmine rice, simply cook it the remainder of your can of coconut milk and a little bit of water. The more water you add to it, the stickier it will be.

Now I just need some Colbie Calliat and another beach to lay on.

What’s your favorite summer flavor? Do you have any “summer songs?”

10 Responses to “You put the lime in the coconut…”


  1. Yum Lauren, that looks delicious! 🙂


  2. Aah that sounds good!! Though how big is your block of tofu!? If I had 1/5th of a block, it’d literally be one mouthful!!


  3. I love anything coconut! This looks great. And I seriously cannot believe how hot it’s getting here. I kinda like it though!


  4. Hey! I’m glad I found your blog- I love ‘meeting’ other health students 😀 I’m studying dietetics and my goal is to become a registered dietitian

    Pineapple always screams summer to me! (Actually, any tropical fruit)

  5. kaztronomic Says:

    That looks really good!

    Hah, had you not told me the tofu bubbled up, I would have been convinced you had deep-fried it. 😀

    Hmm, my favorite summer flavor? Good question. I think I like citrus, like lemonade and orange popsicles.


  6. I’m not big on lemon – but it’s looking really good! I suck at making tofu, though. Still I might have to bang this one out!

    My favorite summer flavor is definitely strawberry


  7. oh my-that looks good. you can rarely go wrong with coconut!

  8. scrumptious Says:

    Yum, this looks super delish! And easy, too. I love recipes with citrus zest. I will definitely be bookmarking this one to come back to someday soon.

    I don’t have one favorite summer flavor, but right now I seem to be on a Nicoise salad kick. It’s so perfect for a Bay Area summer – light enough so if it actually is a warm the meal doesn’t feel too heavy, but filling enough that if it turns out to be freezing outside you still feel like you’ve gotten a solid meal.

    As far as summer songs, for some reason Sublime always makes me think of summer, and barbecues, and cookouts, and summer parties that go on late into the night. Everyone I know has that same association, too!


  9. This looks super yum delicious!


Leave a Reply

