I’m Blue

June 17, 2010

Check out those bangin’ 90’s graphics!

Yep. That’s stuck in my head now because I made blue food for lunch yesterday.

Blueberry Quinoa with Chickpeas

1/2 cup quinoa, dry

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup blueberry juice (I used Naked brand)

1/4  cup slivered almonds

1/2 pint fresh blueberries

1/3 cup raisins

a dash of vanilla extract

a quirt of agave nectar, maple syrup, or honey to sweeten (to taste)

1/2 t cinnamon (or more , depending on your taste)

a pinch of salt (to taste)

First, toast your quinoa in a pan. It’s like toasting nuts. Don’t add any oil, and just let the quinoa heat up and become golden brown. Just move them around every so often to make sure they’re not burning. When you can smell it getting all toasty, add in your almonds and let them toast for just a moment, too. They may begin to pop like popcorn – if that happens, turn your heat down. After about three more minutes of toasting, add in your water, vanilla, and blueberry juice.

Once your liquid is in, you want to actually cook the quinoa. Cover the pan, bring it up to a boil and then put it down to a steady simmer. You want the quinoa to absorb all of the liquids and become fluffy. Add more liquid if you need to.

When the quinoa is cooked, add in your cinnamon, chickpeas, raisins, and blueberries.

Cover and let it heat through.

Serve, garnished with almond joy.

It sounds like it’s an odd dish, but the flavors really work well together. The chickpeas absorb the blueberry flavor and combined with the quinoa you’ve got a wonderful source of healthy, complete protein. This could be enjoyed warm or cold, as brekkie or not.

Da ba de da ba daaaai.

I remember this song all too well. I used to play it in the car on my supa-awesome handheld CD player over and over again. I was so cool. But now I’ll never look at blueberries the same way again.

What’s your favorite 90’s song?

7 Responses to “I’m Blue”

  1. Chelsey Says:

    That looks delicious! I love quinoa as a breakfast food or as a granola. It has such a nutty flavor – great recipe, I’ll be trying it soon!

    Chelsey


  2. Your blueberry quinoa sounds delicious! Thanks for the recipe!


  3. mmmm….quinoa 🙂 unfortunately i’m “intolerant” of it, and have celiac symptoms when i eat it 😦 it’s either cross-contamination from growing near wheat, barley, or rye-or-i just can’t digest the protein in it.
    anyway! fave 90s song? hmmmmm……..probably something by Depeche Mode, Pearl Jam, or Sarah McLachlan. *eek* i’m showing my age! :/

  4. rc1001 Says:

    Walkin on the Sun by Smash Mouth. That was in the 90s right?? Have a good weekend!

  5. solskinn88 Says:

    Hahaha, I had a crush on… giiiih…Aaron Carter.
    Oh, knock me in my head, someone?
    I loved Eifell 65 as well though, haha, I bought an album just because of that song.

    Your dish looks amazing, and I know I would love it, because blueberries and me are faithful companions.

  6. Simply Life Says:

    Yum! That looks great!

  7. Courtney Says:

    I remember this song from Now 4!! I just stumbled upon your blog- very cute! 😀


Leave a Reply

