o’FAIL

June 19, 2010

Post workout protein for me usually comes in the form of Peanut Butter, hummus, beans, or nuts. I don’t need a million grams of the stuff, and around 10 grams or so does it for me. Instead of going for my usual handful of cashews or a dinner featuring beans, I decided to switch it up and go with soy yogurt. Because I’m a Trader Joe’s addict, I usually buy their own brand of organic raspberry or strawberry yogurt. But today, TJs was the first pit stop on a whirlwind shopping adventure including a search for shoes to wear to a wedding this afternoon (hello, procrastination!), and I couldn’t buy anything that would spoil in a hot car.

So once my shoe-related errands were done, I ran into Harris Cheater Teeter and got some (expensive) Stonyfield organic o’Soy yogurt.

Mistake #1: it was overpriced, just because HT likes to jack up the prices on everything.

Fast forward eight hours later, and I’m hankering for some post-weight training protein. Time for soyness!

Mistake #2: the top of the yogurt had a thin layer of water on top of it. Separation is nasty.

Being the scavenger that I am, I immediately went searching for the fruit that Stonyfield claimed was on the bottom of the pot. I scavenged like I scavenge my daddy for food monies.

Mistake #3: no actual fruit. It looked like it had been whizzed up in a blender or something, because there was absolutely no sign of luscious, sweet raspberries on the bottom of the pot. Syrupy raspberry liquid is no bueno.

I had taken about two bites when I decided to see just what six probiotic goodies were in there.

Mistake #4: I read the ingredients again. And the thing has milk in it.

EPIC FAIL.

Who puts milk in soy yogurt? The label of this yogurt is very misleading, and I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s made the mistake of buying this yogurt and getting the sore tummy that comes afterwards. I think I’m going to have to eat some very stabilizing foods later…and write a very upset e-mail (pun intended).

Today’s lesson: read the ingredients list 5 times instead of just twice. Oh, and wear your contacts.

Wedding ‘fit! What do you guys think? 🙂

Have you ever made a mistake when reading ingredients, or accidentally eaten something you wished you hadn’t?

10 Responses to “o’FAIL”

  1. Megan Says:

    LOVE the wedding outfit, I have an exact lookalike dress but the bottom is coral not green! That sucks about the yog.. I have misread serving sizes and that’s always a bummer! I’m really careful now. Ok and:
    1) I can’t believe your sister lived in Kenan!! I have been over there a billion times plus I live in my sorority house which is on Franklin which is right by Kenan!
    2) I suppose I can give Butternut Squash another try =P
    3) Legit mexi in the QC… well, none really. We tried a new placed called Loco Lime, but my favorite is called Fiesta Maya!


    • i just have to say that it’s so supa crazy that we both live in the QC… but whats supa crazier is that we’ve both been to butternut squash. next time i come up to the thrill i might make you try it again. (i’m in greensboro during the semester)
      ALSO, where is fiesta maya? sounds fantastical!

  2. kaztronomic Says:

    That outfit is really cute! 😀

    I’d be so PO’d about that yogurt! I hate it when food labels are misleading.

    Btw, that blueberry quinoa recipe from yesterday looks so yum! I must try it!


  3. Its like several soy and rice cheeses. They have casein in them (milk) but people think they are milk-free. Its all pretty silly. I just eat the real cheese (but I am NOT vegan). Too bad about the fail!


  4. That dress is really cute!

    That’s really silly of the company to put milk in soy yogurt! Isn’t the point of soy yogurt so that vegans/lactose intolerant people can eat it?!

    I’m allergic to nuts and I once ate a granola bar that had peanuts in it. Whoops! That mistake landed me in the ER. 😛

  5. Heather Says:

    What the ???? Seriously, milk in the soy yogurt? NOT COOL.
    I never would have guessed.
    Anyway-super cute outfit!!

  6. Lele Says:

    Who puts milk in soy yogurt?! That’s like putting meat in tofu meatballs!

  7. Chelsey Says:

    1. Love the outfit. Super cute!

    2. I have eaten a lot of things I have regretted – but only because I didn’t know I was intolerant to them when I ate them (gluten, corn, dairy).

    That yogurt would have killed me! 🙂 Sorry you didn’t succeed! Better luck next time.

  8. Faith Says:

    Aw, what a great outfit! That emerald shade is so bright and fun for summer.

    I had the same mistake with that soy yogurt! Thankfully I’m not a vegan, but I do try to avoid most dairy because it tends to weigh me down. I was kind of upset to read about the milk in it – very misleading, like you said. Even though I’m in love with my Naturally More peanut butter, when I first bought it, I was kinda blown away by the egg yolk on the ingredient list!

  9. simplyshaka Says:

    So I just found your blog and I loooooove the name of it, it makes me smile since I am in the south as well 🙂

    I love your dress and cannot agree more about HT—I only go there when things are on sale since they inflate their prices so much. I would marry Trader Joe if I could have little Trader Joe babies!


Leave a Reply

