Technically speaking

June 21, 2010

Technically speaking, I should be doing my summer coursework. It starts on Thursday but I’ve already been assigned an essay, two chapters of reading, and two quizzes. Hey, I did the essay…. it was an “about me” paper. πŸ˜›

Instead of working hard, I hardly worked. I elliptical-ed my heart out and then did this in the gym’s bathroom:

And left this at the gas station:

Technically speaking, it’s probably vandalism. Encouraging, fabulous, wonderful vandalism.

(If you’re wondering what these post-its are, they’re a part of Operation Beautiful and I highly encourage you to visit the site and help spread the love. You know you want to.)

And then, because it’s Father’s Day and all, I did something nice for mi padre and made him epic banana bread. It’s one thing I can make that both he and I will eat. Because technically, he doesn’t know it’s vegan.

The Best Banana Bread You’ll Ever Have

You’ve probably heard that claim before on other recipe sites, but I’ve got the goods to back it up. Trust. This recipe is not only delicious, it’s fat free (the only fats that occur are natural), whole wheat, dairy free, and contains no refined sugars.

Whatcha gonna need!

The wet ingredients:

5 ripe bananas

1/2 cup maple syrup/agave nectar blend

1/4 cup water

1 teaspoon vanilla

The dry ingredients:

2 cups of whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

a sprinkle of cinnamon

Sift all of the dry ingredients together until they’re combined. Or if you don’t wanna dirty up a sifter, because it’s a pain to wash, combine the dry ingredients with a whisk or fork.

In another bowl, take out your anger. Mash up all the wet ingredients. I like it to be a kind of chunky consistency so that you can tell it’s banana bread and not unidentifiable loaf.

Next, combine the wet and dry ingredients together and mix until they are just combined. At this point, you could add in anything else you might want. Chocolate chips, walnuts, blueberries, or even peanut butter would be particularly delicious.

If it’s too thick, add a bit more water to the batter – but not too much. You want it thick like pancake batter. You may also want to add more agave or maple syrup if you like it sweet. I felt a little fruity today so I toped my loaf with another banana that was almost on its way out.

Grease a loaf pan and put yo bread into your oven, which you most definitely didn’t forget to preheat to 375 degrees. Let it bake for an hour, checking occasionally. Use the oven light instead of opening the door.

Once it’s done, you’re gonna wanna bust that bad boy outta the pan immediately, but don’t. Let it cool before you transfer it to a plate. It’s hard to resist chowing down on this sucker straight from the oven…. go for a walk while you wait! Come back and your casa will smell like pure deliciousness.

Worth the wait.

Technically speaking, it’s so good it should be illegal.

Becuase 10 out of 10 non-vegans approve of this message dish, It wins this:

Technically speaking, that was the worst pun ever.

PS – bloggers in CLT, wanna have a meetup sometime soon? πŸ™‚

25 Responses to “Technically speaking”


  1. Beautiful banana bread! I’ve never topped mine with bananas like that, but I love the way it looks!

  2. rc1001 Says:

    Seal of approval. haha!


  3. That sounds AMAZING!! That’s on your official recipe page right? Cos I want to cook it asap!


  4. what a great website-operation beautiful! i actually used to do that with post-its long ago!
    great reminder. i think i’ll pick up some more post its today!
    also reminds me of this video:

  5. Tes Says:

    The bread looks so good. I definitely have to try puting sliced banana on top of the bread like that. It’s so beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Megan Says:

    Yummm your b bread looks beautimous! And I love the post-it notes you left! Obviously YES to a meet-up πŸ™‚
    Where exactly in the QC are you?

  7. kaztronomic Says:

    What an awesome recipe! I have tons of bananas going ripe on my counter; I hope you don’t mind me taking artistic liberties and trying to gluten-free-ify it. Plus, I have some peanut flour that just may make my brain explode if I combine the two. πŸ˜€

    Oh, I’ve got another awful seal joke for you. Open a box of animal crackers, and pull one out. Ask anyone who will listen, “Are these safe to eat? The seal was broken.” Oh yeah.


  8. I know what you mean about working right now…I think it is the heat. I have no drive to do anything! I hope you got some of your writing done. The bread looks delicious!

  9. welshsarah Says:

    This banana bread looks amazing! Can’t wait to try the gluten-free version of it.

    Thanks for stopping by my little blog and leaving a comment- I love comments! πŸ™‚

  10. Little Bookworm Says:

    That banana bread looks amazing, love the seal photo as well. πŸ™‚

  11. Katherine: What About Summer? Says:

    gas station is a great idea! also, I really like the way the bananas look atop the bread there!

  12. foodiefresh Says:

    I need to try your version of banana bread. The only recipe I have is my fiance’s mom’s recipe which begins with one package of “yellow cake mix”. haha.

    I’d love to do a meet-up. Name the time and place! πŸ™‚


  13. haha i wanna say “u got carried away with the posties” but that is something i would totally do too!!! ur amazing! ❀

    omg and even more amazing for that delicious banana bread!!! HOLY YUM WITH THE SLICES ONTOP!! πŸ˜›

    xoxo ❀

  14. Chelsey Says:

    Oooooo I love the idea of sliced naners on top! Love it!

  15. simplyshaka Says:

    Um, I Lmao at that pun, I thought it was cute!

    And I am definitely in for a Charlotte meetup sometime!


  16. I love the banana slices on the top, it makes it look so cute! πŸ™‚


  17. That banana bread sounds delicious! I have tried so many versions of banana bread over the years. I’m excited to try this one πŸ™‚


  18. […] simple. Just take my regular banana bread recipe from here and add in as much peanut butter to the batter as you want. I used a little more than half a jar, […]


  19. […] a while, but I had to keep waiting til I had enough ripe bananas. The β€˜it’ in question is this gorgeous banana bread! After some smashing and mashing, my oven/myself produced a fine […]

  20. Stacey Says:

    Ok, I have bookmarked this page and will be trying this receipe soon! I’m not much of a cook but am ready to learn so this may be a good start! Banans + bread = heaven!!

  21. Meagan Says:

    I made this recipe today and it is amazing!!! MAJOR YUM!!


Leave a Reply

