Ahhh! Real Monsters?

June 25, 2010

Okay, not a real monster… a GREEN monster!

Lookin’ classy in a wine glass.

These have been floating around the blogosphere for a supa long time, and I finally decided to try a Green Monster last December because I saw a picture of it on Caitlin’s blog and she swore you would only taste the banana and not the spinach.

I’ve never looked back.

2 cups baby spinach, packed

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup vanilla almond milk

1 banana

1 scoop peanut butter

1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum (optional)

Whizzed up with ice ice, baby in the blender until smoothie like.


How do you make your Green Monsters?

Also – I’m in search of some protein powder, does anyone have any suggestions? I’m partial to vanilla. : )

8 Responses to “Ahhh! Real Monsters?”


  1. I. love. green. monsters.
    Yours looks wayy prettier than mine normally do though! My favorite GM is spinach, banana, bluebs, and almond milk. I need to try one with pb! And I like TJ’s “aria” vanilla protein powder. Either that or vanilla designer whey!

  2. Anna Says:

    I put my green monsters in fancy glasses too! I love them!

  3. Faith Says:

    My GM’s have spinach, ice, bananas, wheat germ, and occasionally some chocolate chips (wouldn’t want to get too healthy now 😉 – and I LOVE putting them in martini glasses!

  4. kaztronomic Says:

    Rather than bananas, I like to sweeten mine with ripe cantaloupe. Cantaloupe + strawberry is so good!


  5. I’m still working on getting my GMs to be GREEN!! They always turn out all sorts of colors haha at least they always taste good (:

  6. simplyshaka Says:

    That is a beautiful GM. I’ve been trying to incorporate more greek yogurt into mine instead of using powders but my absolute fave powder has been SpiruTein Cookies N Cream. It tastes like you’re eating a dessert!


  7. For protein powder, try Nutribiotic Rice Protein. It has NO bad stuff and it works really well. I tried the vanilla, but I think the plain is better. Wouldn’t you rather add REAL vanilla instead? I would 🙂

  8. foodiefresh Says:

    I love them too and I’m proud to say that I’ve converted some plain smoothie drinkers to green monster drinkers. 🙂 As for protein powders I am partial to the GNC Pro Performance 100% Whey Protein or TJ”s MET-Rx Whey Protein. I usually have both vanilla and chocolate on hand because I prefer them individually with certain types of fruit.


Leave a Reply

