A Family Affair

July 3, 2010

It’s definitely safe to say that my family is insane.

For the past two days, I’ve been babysitting my 7 year old cousin. If you follow me on Twitter, you’ve gotten a glimpse of our shenanigans. We’ve been swimming, laser tagging, Monopoly-ing, playing arcade games, and light saber fighting. Here’s a glimpse…

An epic battle ensued.

Samurai sword + bubbles = showdown.

Excitement!

Which was only heightened by one thing (well, for me anyways)…

Peanut Butter Banana Bread!

Super simple. Just take my regular banana bread recipe from here and add in as much peanut butter to the batter as you want. I used a little more than half a jar, and drizzled more on the top because I want it that way.

To end two days of crazy games and fun, we had the supa cool (AKA Asian) half of my immediate family over for dinner. Enter eats prepared by yours truly:

6 Layer Mexican Salad

I can’t lie, I didn’t really know what to make for a Mexican themed meal, but I promised y’all. I gotta go around the world in 80 days food.  I knew I didn’t want to go the route of crappy nachos and vegan cheese, or quesadillas. I mean, a warm gooey filled tortilla is a tasty sucker, but it’s kind of overdone, in my opinion. This salad is my take on rice and beans, sans lard. Did you know most beans in Mexican restaurants (and even canned ones!) have the stuff in ’em? Nasty. Anyway..

The spices in the rice are strong – which is why I didn’t flavor the rest of the salad. It’s entirely up to you as to how much or how little you want to add. I’m a wuss, so I only added a minor amount of heat.

You’re gonna need:

2/3 cup dry brown rice

1/4-1/2 teaspoon (or more!) of the following spices: chili powder, cayenne red pepper, chipotle poweder, oregano, cumin, paprika, cinnamon, lemon and lime zest/juice, and S&P to taste.

2 cups (or 1 15 oz can) of black beans

2 cups (or 1 15 oz can) of corn

2 cups cherry tomatoes, cut in half

2 cups baby spinach

1 avocado, peeled and cubed

If you’re using canned veggies, make sure that you buy them without any salt or sugar added! The corn is even better if you grill or saute it before tossing it into the bowl.

Ok, brace yourselves. This is a super simple recipe and I can’t believe I haven’t seen it anywhere before.

Cook your rice (2 parts water, 1 part rice) with the spices. If you can, instead of water, use vegetable stock. That’s the hardest part of this salad, for real.

Layering action!

Let your rice cool before you place it in the bowl. Then add your beans, spinach, tomatoes, and avocado. In between each layer, I added a sprinkling of S&P and lemon juice.

Olé!

But wait! There’s more!

Because what’s a salad without dressing?

All I did was take about 1/2 cup of roasted red pepper hummus and add in of chili powder, chipotle powder, ground cayenne, and lemon juice.  Remember, it’s all to taste, depending on how you like it! To thin it out, I stirred about 1/4 cup of water until it was creamy.

I could eat that all day.

But instead, I think I’ll go fish toy soldiers out of the couch.

What was your favorite game as a child?

13 Responses to “A Family Affair”


  1. Aaahh your banana bread! I actually have it cooking in the oven RIGHT NOW 😀
    If only I’d thought of PB 1st though!

  2. Chelsey Says:

    That salad looks so yummy!!!

    I have an asian part of my family too – love my japanese aunt and cousins!! 🙂


  3. Looks like fun!
    My fave game as a kid was the boardgame Sorry. I am an only child, so if a cousin wasn’t around, I’d play by myself.
    Now I have a 6 year old and we play often. Much better ❤


  4. Oh man, that banana bread looks like something I need to have in my life soon 🙂

  5. Faith Says:

    Ah that does look amazing! You say Mexican food, you’ve got my attention off the bat.

    When I was little, I LOVED life! I must have driven my family crazy making them play round after round of that God-forsaken never ending game!

  6. kaztronomic Says:

    I still need to bake your banana bread. You putting peanut butter in it is making my brain explode!

    For some reason, it never crossed my mind to add seasoned rice to my salads. That’s so nifty! I’m *so* making this soon.

    Hah, my family wasn’t really “interactive”, so we never played board games. We grew up on our NES/SNES playing Mario Bros. I did have a certain fondness for Dr. Mario, though. 😀


  7. i LOVE that shot of your cousin and the bubbles. it is perfect!! looks like you two have been ha ving fun, too 🙂
    that banana bread looks great, too. i’ve been trying to perfect my own PB and Banana Bran muffins…i don’t know why i try to make up my own when i could just make something tried and true like this, though! haha. and the 7 layer salad is also gorgeous. i’m a wimp when it comes to heat and spice, too – but i bet this is delicious hot or not!

  8. thehungryscholar Says:

    Peanut Butter Banana Bread. Bloggers keep mixing my favorite things! Looks so good!

  9. Rebecca Says:

    Oh my gosh, peanut butter in banana bread! ON banana bread! AH.MUST TRY.

    Aw haha looks like you had a lot of fun with your cousin! I love kids and their shenanigans ^^

    When I was little, my brother and all our little muchkin friends LOVED the video game The Legend of Zelda, so we would always pretend we were in the game 🙂 Yes, yes that is nerd-dom on a whole new level.

  10. foodiefresh Says:

    My favorite games as a child were the ones we made up on the fly – like the time we played the game “let’s get lost in the woods and see if we can find our way home”. It was super fun, but once we figured out we could always follow the creek home, we could never get lost again. Game over. 🙂

    Kids are so much fun!


  11. You can’t beat family time! Sounds like you are enjoying yourself! We play Uno…a lot and scrabble too! The salad looks delicious and the banana bread and peanut butter combo…perfect!


  12. haha 7 year olds can be tons of fun! SO much energy!!
    Banana bread looks awesome!!
    and so does your mexican salad!!
    check out my blog for my giveaway!! 🙂


  13. Yum, peanut butter banana bread? Sign me up.

    My favorite game was definitely “manhunt” which is basically just hide-and-seek in the dark. So much fun to play with all of my cousins! I miss being a kid.


Leave a Reply

