An American Day

July 5, 2010

I can’t lie, I had a pretty darn American day yesterday. Usually, I just make a joke when people ask me about celebrating Independence Day (I’m British). I tell people that my family sits around and just mutters, “Darn, they got away.” or something, but actually, we really do celebrate being American. We’re legalized citizens and when we celebrate Thanksgiving or Independence Day, we celebrate coming to America for a better future.

So my Brit-merican self and I decided to have a classic American day. Starting with a true classic:

It. Was. Epic.

Toy Story 3 topped Toy Story 2. I usually don’t like sequels, because they usually ruin it. Regardless of the fact that the movies all seem to revolve around the same plot line (the toys getting lost somewhere and and having to find their way back), the story in this movie was just so much more touching – perhaps because we were going to have to prepare to say goodbye to Andy as he goes off to college. But I won’t give you spoilers or reviews because the only thing this blog shares with Rotten Tomatoes is the fact that there’s food in the name.

And speaking of food, I gave an American classic a vegan twist!


A vegan “hot dog” with banana, PB, and jelly on a whole wheat bun, with a side of sweet potato fries instead of potato chips. Simply slice up a sweet potato, coat in olive oil, S&P, and whatever seasonings you like, and roast at 400 for 45 minutes. I put them under the broiler for the lastΒ  minutes to get them spotty and crisper!

Going..

G

…going…

…gone!

With a full belly and a charged camera, I headed downtown (or uptown? who knows) and watched some fireworks.

How did you spend your 4th?

16 Responses to “An American Day”

  1. Anna Says:

    Beautiful fireworks pictures! Glad you had a good fourth…even though you’re British πŸ™‚

  2. mysweetseason Says:

    Lovely fireworks pics!

    Haha I love that you documented how you ate your vegan hot dog πŸ™‚

  3. BitterSweet Says:

    What fun, a dessert “hot dog” sounds wonderful- Wish I thought of that one! Bet it would be awesome with frozen bananas (dipped in chocolate, even!), too. πŸ™‚

  4. Faith Says:

    That sounds like a pretty perfect way to celebrate it if you ask me!


  5. Nice hot dog πŸ˜‰ I’d make that….with chocolate haha

  6. Maren Says:

    Your pictures of fireworks are really good. I also love your idea for vegan hot dogs. They look delish and easy.


  7. Omg I love your vegan “hot dog”. I’m thinking that’s the perfect pre-long run fuel!

  8. Megan Says:

    TOLD you to go see TS3! I don’t lie! Haha I love your “hot dog,” that is totally something I would do at a cookout and my family would just roll their eyes.

  9. Chelsey Says:

    I totally did not know you are British! Anyways, did you cry during Toy Story 3 too, or am I just a big baby?

    Looooove your vegan ” hot dog” – that looks absolutely delish!

  10. kaztronomic Says:

    Hah, enjoyed your wit there. πŸ˜€

    Would you believe I haven’t seen any of the Toy Story sequels, and I haven’t even seen the original in probably over a decade?

    Your fireworks pictures turned out so crisp, clear, and pretty! Mine were smoky shadows. xD

    And, yes, yumtastic on your banana-dog!


  11. Sounds like a great day! Your pics of the fireworks are gorgeous!

  12. kaztronomic Says:

    Being the total nerd that I am, I totally just passed a blogger award onto you. πŸ˜€ -pokes my blog-

  13. squigglefloey Says:

    Hey lovely πŸ™‚
    Your bananie inspired hot dog is adorable. I shall try that out sometime.
    I’ve been wanting to see TS3 since it came out but I haven’t had timeee.
    Ahhh…must watch! But now I also want to see Despicable Me, haha. Not sure when that comes out though.
    Lovely pics πŸ™‚

    Floey


  14. Love your Banana Dog! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

