Cool Beans

July 11, 2010

You know who is a cool bean (and currently my desktop AND cell phone wallpaper)? Michael Bublé. You guys know I was heading to his concert last night, and I’ve gotta say, it did NOT disappoint.. even though some 15 hardcore fans and yours truly waited outside the gate for him for 2 hours after his show and he simply drove past without stopping to sign things. But I did meet some of his band members… and they may or may not have invited me to go to the bar with them. Michael is forgiven for not saying hello on account of his FACE.

Case in point:

He also did his own take on Michael Jackson’s Billie Jean. I’d post the video on here but my girly screams are a bit distracting. 😉

Speaking of beans, I’ve also become obsessed with a fairly awesome one recently: the Adzuki (or aduki) bean. Never heard of it? It’s pronounced a-dookie bean. Say it in front of a kid and they’ll think you’re epic. It comes all the way from China, but it’s popular in Japan and is becoming popular here in the US.  So it’s kind of like the Utada Hikaru… but in bean form. You can find it (the bean, not Utada) at a specialty grocer’s like Earth Fare or at any Asian market.

Aww, isn’t he cute? But don’t be fooled. This tiny little guy packs a flavor and nutritional punch. It’ll hit you with:

  • B vitamins
  • Fiber
  • Iron
  • Magnesium
  • Zinc
  • Copper
  • Manganese
  • Potassium
  • Protein
  • Folate
  • Yummy taste!

Gillian McKeith, a nutritionist back home in the UK says that the aduki bean is “the weight loss bean” because it is very low in calories but it is supa high in fiber and protein, which help you stay fuller for longer. She’s also obsessed with looking at people’s poos (no, seriously… she does and it’s disturbing) and says that the bean “acts as a natural diuretic to relieve the body of excess fluids. It also removes unwanted mucus, congestion and stools, and balances metabolism for weight management.” The fiber in adzuki beans is soluble fiber, which helps remove LDL, or “bad” cholesterol.

These suckers are a great and complete protein when paired with a whole grain, like brown jasmine rice. Eat it with chopsticks, listen to Utada Hikaru, and you can pretend like you’re really in Japan. I may or may not have done that a few times.

You can get these lovelies both dried and in cans.

If you go the dried route, soak them in water overnight or even use a pressure cooker or crock pot to cook them through.

If you buy ’em in a can, make sure they have no salt or sugar added, and do your best to find organic.

Oh.. and a word of advice. When you introduce these little joys into your diet, make sure you take it slowly. Otherwise you might have, in the words of Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin, a “mudslide in your pants.”

So there you have it. Two cool beans. And Gillian McKeith. But she’s a nut.

PS, wanna win a cookbook from Mama Pea? Click here!

PPS, do you want to win 5 freeee bags of Food Should Taste Good chips? Clickity click here!

PPPS, do you like pressing tofu? You could win a tofuXpress, so click here!

If I were to host a giveaway, what would you guys want?

29 Responses to “Cool Beans”

  1. Jessie Says:

    I wanted to go to that concert sooo bad! I was just too cheap to buy tickets.

  2. Anna Says:

    Awww, I love him!


  3. Oh. My. Gosh. Wasn’t he incredible?!!???

    I posted a video where I may or may not be screaming and trying to sing along 😉

    He’s awesome. and so was the opening act. 🙂


  4. Michael is fabulous! I’d love to see him live sometime!


  5. yup-Gillian is a bit of a nut. Poor in a cup anyone?! ha!
    I don’t agree with some of what she says, but for most of her conclusions she is spot on.


  6. Lol at the picture of Gillian McKeith! I guess you get the show ‘You Are What You Eat’ over in the States as well then?1 I used to watch it all the time but they don’t show it in the UK any more – well not that I’ve seen anyway!

  7. chelsey Says:

    I absolutely adore micael buble! I loved the mudslide in pants comment hahaha

  8. Monique@She's Going The Distance Says:

    omg that final photo’s kind of scaring me 🙂 hahah I ❤ Michael Bubblé he's so cute and has an AMAZING voice 🙂

  9. Heather Says:

    i would probably die of sheer happiness just seeing him 🙂


  10. When I was in Korea, I decided to try an ice cream treat called, Big Red Bean. It really caught me off guard and at the time I didn’t like it, I think now (being prepared) I would love it 🙂

    Great lil beans!

    ~Alyssa

  11. simplyshaka Says:

    A mudslide in your pants–lol, that is just great!

    That makes sense that he was at TW Arena on Saturday. My friend and I drove past there Saturday night after the show and there were a bunch of girls waiting outside—-I thought it was Bieber 🙂

  12. kaztronomic Says:

    I’m probably the last person in the world who has no idea who Michael Bublé is. =P

    I need to get me some of those beans, if not just to say “a-dookie”. Hah, I spat water when I read that. 😀

    I’m more of a Mai Yamane fan, tbh. But, I’m just old school like that. x)

  13. Megan Says:

    Ahh I bet Michael was amazinggg! And that last picture cracked me up haha


  14. I looove Michael Buble! hehe 🙂

  15. Efi Says:

    Adzuki beans are fantastic and I even make hummus with them.

    I have no idea who Michael is, but I ll certainly find out(cute!), haha

  16. Faith Says:

    Tell me you went to the bar with the band. You better have gone!

    I’ve seen those beans at Publix even and have been really tempted to make them but was never sure what flavors they’d go with. Hmm…


  17. Thanks for visiting my blog! I love that Michael Buble song that’s on the radio right now – but I don’t know the name!

  18. Rocio Says:

    Rawr!!!! He is such a fox.


  19. Love Michael Buble…so jealous that you got to see him!

    I’ve never seen those beans…I’m going to keep my eyes open for them!


  20. i think you should host an aduki bean giveaway because they sound pretty rad and i’ve never seen them 😛 haha. i’ll have to pay more attention next time i’m in the bean aisle, i guess!!
    …and i am afraid to admit i don’t know who michael buble is.


  21. I Love adzuki beans, especially when cooked in sweet soup for dessert. Very common in Taiwan and Japan!

    And Michael Buble is awesome 🙂

  22. Mandiee Says:

    This post is so appropriate because I just tried making my own adzuki beans (organic and bought at the farmer’s market) this week and absolutely ADORE them. They might actually be up there with chick peas and that’s saying a lot. I love them served with kabocha (I got the idea because both are plentiful in macrobiotic cooking). Yummm :D.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  23. Ann Claire Says:

    I really want to try some Adzuki beans now, they sounds great! Michael Buble is pretty cool too!!

  24. Kiersten Says:

    The picture of that lady is kinda creepy, lol. I am glad you had fun at the concert!

    I like adzuki beans but rarely make them. For some reason I can never come up with anything to make with them!


  25. I am a huge fan of the almighty bean! I love that poster of Gillian!

  26. kbwood Says:

    I WAS AT THAT CONCERT!!! soooo good!!


  27. […] while back, Lauren did a post about adzuki beans, which piqued my interest.  I mean, anything that you can pronounce as a-dookie is a winner in my […]


Leave a Reply

