I’m a Lucky Duck, and You Can Be Too!

July 21, 2010

There’s a giveaway in this post! 🙂

On our second (and last) day in NYC, I was persuasive lucky enough to get to visit One Lucky Duck, the takeaway shop attached to Pure Food & Wine.. Do a Google search for “vegan food in NYC” and I can guarantee you One Lucky Duck will be on the top five places listed, along with Babycakes vegan bakery. Admittedly, One Lucky Duck wasn’t first on my list. Babycakes NYC was…because let’s face it, I hadn’t had a legit cupcake in the longest time and I was jonesing for a refined sugar free high. It’s hard to make good vegan cupcakes.

When we realized that Babycakes was 3.66 miles away from the hotel we were staying at (and I couldn’t make Roomie and her mum walk over 7 miles for vegan food), I looked up where One Lucky Duck was. 1.2 miles? Right on. 1.2 miles in the heat? Major suckage. By the end of our trip there, my jeans were stuck to my legs like jeggings (what the heck are those things all about?!?) and I could feel the sweat dripping down my back. My feet were aching (by this time, we had walked over a marathon distance as well as running at ze gym) and I knew blisters were well on their way.

But it was worth it. Soooo worth it.

Super cute!

The menu was so intense. I wanted it all.

The first thing I noticed when I walked inside was the super chill atmosphere. There was some music playing in the background – perhaps The Decemberists – and the decor was abso-freaking-lutely adorable. One wall, painted red, had pictures of ducks and stringed lights hanging from the ceiling. I took a picture, but it ended up blurry. 😦 Sad times.

The other wall, however, was full of DELICIOUSness.

O hai, Roomie!

These little pouches of goodness are worth the ridiculously expensive prices. Seriously… despite the fact that I spent $25 on an epic smoothie, cookies, and crispies. But you’re paying for amazing quality. Everything in the shop is raw, vegan, gluten and refined sugar free, and it’s also organic. And orgasmic.

On to the eats!

Banana-nut-crackcocaine smoothie.

This little treat was so tasty, I couldn’t stop sipping it. I was surprised I made it out the door with a fifth left in the cup. The first thing that hit me when I took that glorious first sip was bananas and then a hit of cinnamon. I think they put a loaf of banana bread into the vitamix. It was frothy, rich, creamy, and just how a milkshake should be. On such a hot day, it didn’t leave me with an overly sweet mouth and desperate for a sip of water.

I was also surprised that the chocolate crispies that I bought lasted the train ride to Boston. They made the four hours of reading about Hitler and the Cold war soooo much better. These crispies are intended to go in cereal, kind of like raw cocoa pops, but there was no way these babies were going to make it another week – I had a long arse train ride as well as a trip on a plane to make it through. I needed these.

Organic buckwheat, organic maple syrup, organic maple powder, organic cocoa powder, organic vanilla extract, Himalayan crystal salt.

What?! Where’d they put the crack? Cause these things are good eats… even if they weren’t cereal-ized.

Which is why this demolition happened approximately two hours later in the hotel room…They lasted a whole 8 hours!

One Lucky Duck luckily, I still had something chocolate-y and fantastic up my sleeve.

Chocolate chip heroin cookies.

(seriously, why do I keep adding addictive substances to these cookies?! They must have put ’em in there, how can something raw taste so great?)

These adorable heart-shaped cookies were fantastic. Phenomenal. “Fantasmagasmic,” as Roomie says.

I wish I could tell you guys how much I loved this place. But I just can’t put it into words. I now understand why One Lucky Duck is a must. Why it’s on so many vegan websites, featured in magazines, and why it’s so well known. I understand why people can “do” raw food without missing things like cookies, chocolate cereal, and ice cream.

Sarma, you are a goddess.

So do you want to be a lucky duck too?! Well read on, my friends! That’s right, I’m hosting a GIVEAWAY!

One Lucky Duck Gift Card

One lucky duck reader is going to receive a $10 gift card to One Lucky Duck’s online store, sent straight to their e-mail address. With those ten buckaroos, they can get some [help in buying] fantabulous snacks, great books, or wonderful body products. We’re talking macaroons, chocolate bars, cookies, chocolate truffle butter (!!!!), and *Atisana* products. You do not want to miss out on this, take it from me. The best part is that the heroes at One Lucky Duck will ship their store products worldwide, so this contest is open to everyone and anyone!

How to enter:

1.) Leave a comment on here telling me  your best restaurant experience and why. Or bribe me with chocolate. 😉

2.) Tweet about this and let me know. (You can follow me on twitter @southernbritish)

3.) For an extra entry, link to this on your blog and post that in your comment, too!

You will automatically win if you buy me chocolate.*

I will randomly pick a winner one week from today.

Good luck, ducklings!

*not really…sorry.

52 Responses to “I’m a Lucky Duck, and You Can Be Too!”

  1. Chelsey Says:

    Ooooooo I am excited!!!

    My best restaurant experience happened when I still ate meat/gluten/dairy… all that stuff. FH and I went to a Brazillian steakhouse where they bring out all the meat on huge skewers and cut you off slices. There was about 25 different varieties. There was also grilled pineapple on huge skewers! It was soooo good. There waas also a buffet portion which included salad, appetizers, side disher… oooohhh myyy gooodness. Even though I don’t eat it anymore, it still makes me drool.

  2. Jessie Says:

    Oh my, this one is so hard! I have had so many wonderful restaurant experiences! On of my best experiences was at a place called The Chef’s Table in Waynesville, NC. That experience was one of the best for more reasons that the restaurant itself or the food. Don’t get me wrong, the place was cute and quaint, and the food was delicious. The whole experience was made better by having spent a restful and fun weekend in the mountains with my husband.

  3. Jessie Says:

    Tweeted.


  4. looks like you’re having an INCREDIBLE time! i too can see why being vegan/raw/gf in NYC would be so much easier.
    my best restaurant experience is at a tiny little mexican restaurant in my town.
    they have the BEST plate of grilled veggies. Perfect EVERY time 🙂
    I’m on twitter, too (hippiechristian), so I’ll make sure to follow you 🙂

  5. Brittney Says:

    I tweeted about the giveaway!

  6. Katya Konkol Says:

    My best restaurant experience was at this mexican restaurant in my city. I got a vegan burrito, and absolutely EVERYTHING in it was delicious. the rice, guacamole, veggies, salsa, everything! the best part is I had leftovers so I could have it again for lunch the next day!

  7. Monique@She's Going The Distance Says:

    mmmm cocaine smoothies and heroin cookies 🙂 story of my life.

  8. kaztronomic Says:

    Whoa, that sounds amazing! I have trouble slowing myself down on delicious drinks, too, and before you know it, they’re gone. Boo!

    I have no twitter, alas! =P

    But my best restaurant experience was when I went to this little hole-in-the-wall Mexican restaurant and looked at the menu and saw that I could eat straight off the menu (no, not literally, hah, though it would make a nice platter, no?) without special modifications or amendments, and get real, good Mexican food. 😀

  9. Megan Says:

    Ahhh I want to eat everything in this post! My best restaurant experience was in Italy two summers ago.. I got pumpkin pasta and ohhh my goodness was it heavenly.
    p.s. your last comment on my blog made me smile! thanks!! =D

  10. Lisa Says:

    My best restaurant experience was when my mom and I went to Alan Wong’s. The service was excellent, the food was amazing, and I can’t wait to go back.

  11. Alyson Says:

    I LOVE YOUR BLOG! 🙂 Just so you know. But, I really love this Mediterranean restaurant in Lansing, MI. I had me some amazing falafels with tabbouleh and hummus. 😀 Delish! Best ever!


  12. SOO jealous of your lucky duck experience. It looks amazing!! I’m almost drooling over the description of the smoothie.
    My best rastaraunt experience was probably where I and a group of friends went for dinner before our senior prom. Which is ironic, because I honestly can’t even remember what I ordered…I just remember having a great time with the hors’doevres (or however it’s spelled!) wheel that they had 😛


  13. Best experience in a restaurant…..at the top of the tallest building in town having dinner and getting engaged. Perfect!

  14. Heather Says:

    This is going to sound cheesy, but my favorite place is in my own kitchen, cooking with my boyfriend. Spending quality time, making and sharing food, is something I look forward too (and I think it makes the food taste better).

  15. Sarma Says:

    This is so cute! I’m obviously not entering… ! ha Just came across it on google alerts and wanted to say HI and so glad you liked everything, and thanks for such a sweet post. 🙂 xosarma

  16. Robin Says:

    My favorite restaurant experience of recent memory was when I went to Caravan of Dreams (in nyc) with a friend from high school who I hadn’t seen in months! We started with hummus & crudites and each ordered a salad after that. I forget everything that was in mine, but I do recall delicious, sweet mango pieces, kale<3, and sunflower seeds.

    I live in NYC and have been DYING to visit Pure Food & Wine. Stupid college student budget 😦

    PS I'm tweeting about this! And if I had a blog, I'd post about it too haha

  17. Julia Says:

    I love one lucky duck, and work 2 blocks away. Unfortunately, it’s a nasty habit for my bank account. Their smoothies are amazing and I can’t get enough of the S&M salad. So glad you enjoyed your NYC trip.


  18. […] (PS—While you’re at it, enter to win some other stuff too! Averie’s $100 CSN shopping spree Noelle’s $50 CSN shopping spree Alta’s coconut oil giveaway Vegan & So Forth’s snack giveaway Lauren’s One Lucky Duck giveaway) […]

  19. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan Says:

    One of my most memorable meals ever was at Rick Bayless’ XOCO in Chicago! http://almostveganblog.com/2010/04/30/almost-vegan-in-chicago-2-2/

  20. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan Says:

    I also mentioned your giveaway on my blog! (end of entry)
    http://almostveganblog.com/2010/07/19/review-giveaway-sodelicious/

  21. Amy Says:

    Tweet Tweet! =)

    Also, best restaurant: A cafe in Salzburg, Austria called Cafe Stein. I lived in Austria for a month, and in that month went to Cafe Stein at least 4 times. They aren’t technically a restaurant, but they have snacks and desserts, and every delicious cocktail you can think of!! The first time I went I had Blinis and a Chocolate Daquiri and I was hooked!!!

  22. Cheryl Says:

    I added you on twitter and tweeted..

  23. eatmovewrite Says:

    My favorite restaurant experience was when my husband proposed. He took me to a new place called Kensington Grill. It was divine. They seated us in a corner booth. His plan was to go to the bathroom and when he came back to drop down, tie his shoe, and then propose. Unfortunately, the area was too tight for him to do that, but he still managed to do an amazing proposal. The restaurant was great, but can you blame me if I don’t remember the food?!?

    I love vegan treats! Would love to win it!


  24. […] PS – don’t forget to enter my giveaway! […]

  25. Cheryl Says:

    The best resturant experience I ever had was going to this cute mom and pop resturant in the middle of no where and we walked in and were their 100th customer… They were so sweet and we got some seriously delicous food.

  26. Dan Says:

    It’s far from raw vegan, but back when I still ate most things dinner at Picasso was a standout: breathtaking setting with the paintings and Bellagio fountains; wonderful service; incredible tasting cuisine and parting gift treats that came in a signature box I still have.

  27. Katherine Says:

    Oooh I’ve been wanting to try something from One Lucky Duck! My favorite restaurant experience was at a place called La Giostra in Florence, Italy. Best pasta I’ve ever had!


  28. […] know, you could use One Lucky Duck’s raw chocolate truffle butter if you were to enter my giveaway. Yay for plugs! Shame? What’s […]

  29. Sarah Says:

    My best restaurant experience has to be when i went to souper salad. Not a rare occasion now but it was only like the 2nd or 3rd time my dad and i had been before. I was chatting up the lady behind the soup/breads/pasta station asking if they had any other plain raw onion (the ones out had some bacon bits in it and im vegan) and she happily brought me a fresh cup. Now to the good part. Next week my dad and i went back again, and the same lady was working there. She came up to me and told me she made a pizza with no cheese and extra veggies, made sure to note that she used a separate plate and knife when prepping it, and let me know all the onions and stuff were fresh so i didnt have to worry about cross contamination. How sweet is that???!

  30. spoonfulofsugarfree Says:

    Oh my gosh! I have been hearing about this One Lucky Duck place for ages! It sounds so wonderful!

    My best restaurant experience was when I went to a country club buffet one year for Thanksgiving. Oh my gosh!!! Anything you wanted, THEY had!! Seriously, I was soooo full afterwards, I could barely walk!!! But it was delicious!

  31. spoonfulofsugarfree Says:

    Just Blogged!

  32. foodiefresh Says:

    My best restaurant experience was the first time I visited Brad in Tampa when we first started dating and he took me to an authentic Spanish tapa’s restaurant that was sooo tiny and delicious. Btw – your giveaway is on my blog post that is scheduled to post at 6:30 am tomorrow. 🙂


  33. Well I don’t usually comment on blogs but I came across yours whilst I was doing a bit of work researching in Google today so i figured I might leave a quick note. Obviously I’ve gotten a little sidetracked after sticking around to read a number of your posts. Terrific stuff here and I’m going to be back in the future to check out more. Take care!


  34. […] You should definitely stop by Lauren’s blog for a sweet […]


  35. […] Not All Who Wander Are Lost… Unless You’re Us Looking for my giveaway? Click here! […]


  36. That place sounds awesome!! I would love to go there next time I’m in NYC! 🙂

  37. emily l Says:

    My favorite restaurant was the Veg City Diner when I lived in NYC, and it’s gone now, but it was amazing to be able to order anything on the menu. 🙂

    misusedinnocence@aol.com


  38. My best restaurant experience … I have so many! Should I choose my first blogger meetup? A casual dinner over vegan pizza and beer the first time I found a pizzeria serving vegan cheese?

    I think I’m going to have to go with a trip to the Chicago Diner. It wasn’t my first all-vegan restaurant, but it was a great experience because the vibe was great, everyone enjoying Sunday brunch, and the wait staff was enthusiastic and having a great time. Plus the Reuben was incredible!

  39. Jenny Says:

    Hmm…I’m sure it took place in NYC…I’m going to go with this one at Candle 79 just because the restaurant is so pretty, and we got to sit upstairs right against the window, overlooking the street. And I ate the best dessert I’ve ever had in my life. http://veganandsoforth.blogspot.com/2009/07/i-heart-new-york.html
    It was made with chocolate! 🙂

  40. Jenny Says:

    And I’ve never been to that restaurant for some crazy reason! I will definitely go the next time I’m there.

  41. Meagan Says:

    Best restaurant experience was on my 10th birthday at Joe’s Crab Shack when they made me dance around while all the waiter/waitresses sang Happy Birthday to me!! SOOO EMBARRASSING and the time, but now I look back and it is so funny!

  42. Meagan Says:

    Tweeted! @vivalameaganx3


  43. […] before I get to the good stuff, let me remind you that you have one day left to enter my giveaway. I’ll randomly pick a winner on my birthday, July […]


  44. Just found your blog and see I’m too late for the giveaway, but have to say I am so jealous you got to go to One Lucky Duck. I’m a couple of months into a High Raw diet and Living Raw Food was the first raw food book I got from the library. I now aspire to get to NY and eat at Pure Food&Wine and/or One Lucky Duck for the entire trip.


Leave a Reply

