A Sweet Discovery

July 23, 2010

Okay, so I thought I should let you guys know that I’m back in the dirty dirty. I didn’t blog and wasn’t really supa active in the blogosphere while I was gone, so I apologize for the lack of life. Anyways, onwards and upwards we go.

New Yawk was amazing. Bawston was immense. Posts from here will be about the trip for a while, cause I have a lot to say, mmmkay? I promise I won’t be boring. ๐Ÿ™‚

Goodbye, New York! Hello, Boston!

Such pretty architecture,

I will own this one day.

Great views,

and a crap ton of cute shops.

(This reminded me of you, Mama Pea!)

And amongst all our shopping and dropping, Roomie and I made an amazing, fabulous, epic, and very sweet discovery today, nestled among rows and rows of fancy and uber expensive boutiques… a cupcake store! But not just any old cupcake store.

This brand new and oh so adorable little cupcake shop was called Sweet. You’re gonna see this word so many times it’s going to stop making sense… don’t you hate when that happens? Sweet sweet sweet sweet sweet…..

Everything was pink and there was a large chandelier over our table. How cute is this place?! It was as if it came out of a fairy tale or a dream. Everything was sleek, modern, and PINK!

Adorbs.

The menu was pretty extensive, and the selection in the case was even bigger.

Of course, I instantly saw the bestest cuppycake flavor within a few moments of being behind the counter. My cupcake senses were tingling.

CHOCOLATE.

I feel like the decision to buy this little gem had been made even before I walked into the store. It was fate. Destiny. Whatever you want to call it, me and that little cupcake were meant to be together forever.

Happy cupcake face!

Adorable Roomie and her red velvet cupcake.

I can’t remember the last time I had a good cupcake. And by good, I don’t mean the crappy Betty Crocker kind or the one that comes in a box from the grocery store. I mean a made-from-scratch-with-oodles-of-love-inside kind of cupcake. The ones that make your heart sing and yourย taste budsย dance. To be honest, I can’t remember much of this cupcake, but only because it BLEW my freaking mind.

Roomie tested, Roomie approved.

This is the part that I’m supposed to show you pictures of the inside and how moist (ew, I hate that word), soft, and chocolate-y this sucker was. But I was too busy having multiple parties in my mouth to remember to take pictures. Just imagine the best cupcake your grandmother/mommy/lover/private chef could ever bake for you and then make it even better. That’s how good this was.

That’s why I have a sad-last-bite face.

Now I just wish we had a vegan cupcakery in the dirty dirty. Until we do, I’ll be singing.

Have you ever made an epic, tasty, fantastic discovery?

PS – don’t forget to enter my giveaway!

13 Responses to “A Sweet Discovery”


  1. holy epic cupcake! it DOES look good ๐Ÿ™‚
    the only food discovery i can remember that was truly epic, was the first year we had a garden and grew our own spinach and tomatoes (among other things.)
    i couldn’t believe how good the spinach tasted. it was almost *bizarre* ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Chelsey Says:

    Holy cow, that cupcake looks AWESOME!!

  3. Anna Says:

    Yum!!!! I love cute cupcake stores!

  4. Kiersten Says:

    It’d be so awesome if Charlotte had a vegan cupcake place!

  5. rc1001 Says:

    Traveling to Italy was my epic tasty discovery. That country is DELICIOUS

  6. Rebecca Says:

    This may have been the cutest I have ever seen. I love it when cupcakes have that *gloop* of icing on top!
    I’m sorry you’re cupcake had to end ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’m proud of you for have biteS though! Not many can master the -do not eat this in one bite- technique, especially when it comes to cupcakes!

    Let’s see, food discoveries.. I had mini pigs in a blanket last night ๐Ÿ˜ฎ every time I found the little weiner in its blanket I felt like I was making a discovery! ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. kaztronomic Says:

    Whoa, what a delicious-looking cupcake! I would have been head-first in that frosting before you could bat an eye. Mmmm!

    My best food discovery as of late was kasha, or buckwheat groats. I can’t eat oats (have yet to find any that are gluten free and readily available) but kasha cooks up just like oats, but actually has a taste: smoky, nutty, savory, slightly sweet — so yummy. ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Megan Says:

    Glad you’re back in the QC! That cupcake shop looks DIVINE. When I went to NYC I had a Magnolia cupcake (not vegan, but veryyyy delicious) that blew my mind. My friend recreated them and they were actually pretty tasty!!
    p.s. email me about these restaurants you were talking about!

  9. mysweetseason Says:

    New York is gorgeous! I really want to live there! The cupcake shop is adoooorbbs!

    I recently discovered PB fro yo loooove ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Faith Says:

    Mmm, cupcakes! I think the best ones I’ve ever had were vegan as well – so much better than the regular ones I’ve eaten! Wonder why?


  11. Hey, thanks for stopping by at my blog ๐Ÿ™‚

    I really like the spirit of your blog – you’re so positive!

    Hopefully someday my town will also have such a cute cupcake shop too ๐Ÿ™‚


  12. Love cupcakes!! What a beautiful display…they all looked great.

  13. indiechic927 Says:

    I love this post! You’ll have to let me know some of the great vegan places to eat! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m planning on traveling to New York and Massachusetts sometime in the future. ๐Ÿ™‚ hurray for vegan eateries! The same is true for Michigan, there are no vegan places to get some grub. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ sadface to that!


Leave a Reply

