Move Yo Self

August 3, 2010

If you’re like me, the last thing you wanna do when on vacay is work out. Unless your family/friends/significant other do boring things like visit expensive and boring art museums all day long. But if you’re somewhere totally legit like Spain or Italy, I’m sure you aren’t thinking about treadmills or strength training. You’re thinking about freaking gelato or something….and I’m thinking about why you didn’t take me with you! 😉

Yes please.

Nevertheless, I think exercising in any way, shape, or form while on vacation is very important. I’m not saying you have to haul your bootay to a nearby gym or run five miles every day you’re away. You see, I also believe that balance is an important part of not only your vacation, but your every day life.

So what’s a gym rat to do? Here’s my top tips for not being a complete bum when you’re away.

– Plan, plan, plan. If you don’t know the area you’re visiting, print off a few Google maps of the area right around your accommodation before you go. Familiarize yourself with the street names or nearby landmarks. That way, you’ll be able to figure out the immediate area for shopping and food as well as running!

– Take a walk. Get oot and aboot. If you’re in the mountains, go for a hike. If you’re at the beach, get your boyfriend to hold your hand at sunset and walk at sunset. Walking is supa easy and it’s good exercise!

– If you belong to a gym, check if you’ve got reciprocal membership. That’s a schmancy term for being able to use any branch of your gym in the country. Chances are, there’s a location near you and you can get in there for free. Or, be sneaky and scope out local gyms before you leave. Most gyms offer a free pass of some sort. Wintastic.

– Try something new! If you’ve never done yoga on the beach before, friggin do it. If you’re in Barcelona, go salsa dance! If you’re in the Alps eat chocolate and ski! You’ll have fun and experience new things – and isn’t that what a vacay is all about?

– Don’t forget to check if your hotel has a gym. That’s super convenient for you, plus you know you can always get a good workout in but there’s no pressure to do so. You can get your sweat on either before or after your adventures…whatever works for you! Plus, there might be a sauna too. *swoon*

And my top tip?

– Relax. Seriously. You’re on vacation. You haven’t traveled as far as you have just so you can work out, so it shouldn’t be a priority while you’re away from home.

Bliss.

Besides…your first priority should be getting me a plane ticket to join you. 😉

Do you work out regularly when on vacation?

9 Responses to “Move Yo Self”

  1. Anna Says:

    Walking definitely becomes my number one form of exercise when we go on vacation. I love it!


  2. I do not workout consistently when on vacay-but there is usally alot of walking involved, so it’s all good 🙂


  3. I agree with the others — walking is a serious part of travel for me, unless I’m visiting family. Such a great way to explore a new city! I also love to walk around the expensive art museums (why must they be so expensive!). In fact, using a hotel gym is about the only exercise equipment I ever use. I’m more of a jog, walk, or yoga girl.

    The best part about using the hotel gyms is that they often have a water cooler — I have stopped by multiple times per day to fill my bottles rather than purchasing bottled water. There’s a tip you can use if you’re thrifty like me!

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree Says:

    Totally! I’m always traveling, and I need to workout every day or else my body feels gross!

    A great way to exercise while on vacay is sightseeing! Rent a bike, walk, or mountain climb! Hike! So much fun and rewarding-doesn’t even feel like exercise.. (well, maybe the next day it will…)

    Also, it is convenient that most hotels have exercise rooms now. Wake up early, or work out before bed. If your in a long car ride I like stopping every hour or two to take a break, and I jumprope hard for five minutes.

  5. kaztronomic Says:

    All very good advice!

    I don’t work out on vacay. Truth be told, whenever I travel, I’m more active than I would normally be at home, so the miles I walk while sight-seeing or the stairs I climb to get from my cabin to the all-you-can-eat buffet on the 11th level seems adequate to me. 😀


  6. I tend to view workouts as a priority when I was traveling on business, I suppose since business trips aren’t vacations/breaks. When on vacation, there tends to be so much walking that I feel like I get enough activity. Like you said, it’s vacation! If you feel like a big workout, do it. If you feel like parking your booty in a pool chair all day, do it!

    That last picture made me green with envy! What I would give to be that person right now….


  7. I usually start off my vacations with keeping up with my exercise though as the vacation continues I seem to lose some steam 🙂 I try to enjoy myself while on vacation but still stay active somehow 😉


  8. Awesome tips! I do try to workout when I’m on vacation, but it’s actually something I enjoy! I’m weird, I know 🙂


  9. Great tips! I always say i’m going to work out on vacation and then end up falling into an ice cream induced coma of happiness and never making it to the gym. But other than that, I stay active on trips with walking everywhere.


Leave a Reply

