I’m Addicted

August 5, 2010

I’m not ashamed of my addiction to that TikTok song by Ke$ha.

I’m sorry, really, I am. It’s just so catchy!

I’m also not ashamed of the fact that I put far too much lemon into my food, especially during the summer.

It’s just so refreshing!

Lemon in pretty much any dish is fan-freaking-tastic. It can brighten up anything from cupcakes to smoothies to savory dishes like scrambled tofu and even egg and dairy free quiche. Yup. I’m a lemon addict… but I hate lemonade. Is that weird?

Lemony Orzo with Roasted Butternut Squash and Pine Nuts

Sheesh. This baby needs a shorter name. I’ll just use an acronym for now. LOwRBNaPN. Yeah. I can so remember that.

You’re gonna need:

1 butternut squash

1 cup whole wheat orzo

1 lemon

1/3 cup pine nuts

1/2 cup basil, julienned

S&P to taste

First, find the least phallic-looking butternut squash you can.

I love these! Erm… I’m talking about the squash.

Don’t know how to prepare a squash? Click here.

Chop it into cubes, and then coat it in olive oil, salt and pepper. Throw them in a 375 degree oven for about an hour, or until they’re tender and cooked through.

Go play outside for a half an hour! 🙂

But don’t go too far, because just before the squash is done cooking (about ten minutes beforehand), you’ll want to put on a pot of water to boil. Once it’s bubbly boiling, add in your orzo.

Zest your lemon, then squeeze the juice. Immediately put about half of it into the bottom of a large serving dish. Chop your basil and also put about half of it into the bowl. Once your orzo and squash are done, trow them in there too. Top with pine nuts, the remaining basil and lemon juice, and lemon zest.

I think I got my family addicted to this dish.

Proof:

Now if I could only get them to like Ke$ha…

What’s your guilty pleasure?

17 Responses to “I’m Addicted”


  1. Oh that looks delish. I’ll definitely be trying it. Y

    My guilty pleasure? Miley Cyrus.

  2. Anna Says:

    My guilty pleasure is bad tv…I just know I’m about to love Bachelor Pad 🙂

    This looks so good! I love orzo!


  3. My guilty pleasure is a big pot of gravy (red for pasta) and my homemade meatballs while drinking good aerated Pinot Noir or Old Vine Zin.

  4. Faith Says:

    I hate that I love Ke$ha too! Have you heard her new one – Take it Off? It’s SO FRACKING CATCHY. Lady Gaga is my musical guilty pleasure. She just fascinates me on a very odd level!

    Your orzo sounds amazing! It’s been so long since I’ve made it, but your flavor combos sound fab!

  5. kaztronomic Says:

    “I love these! Erm… I’m talking about the squash.” I totally laughed out loud, one of those spontaneous, barking laughs that you don’t realize you’re laughing until it happens. Evidently, I have a serious gutter mind and I played right into your trap. x)

    This recipe looks freakin’ awesome! I love butternut squash, and my passion for all things lemon is no secret. I love how it’s so simple, too. I’ll have to sub in rice, most likely, but I’ll definitely be making this soon. 😀

  6. whitinspired Says:

    That looks yummy! My guilty pleasure is the Real Housewives of anything. I can’t help myself.


  7. My guilty pleasure is Glee. It’s almost embarrassing how much I love the show and the music. For food, I can’t seem to get enough coconut lately.

    The orzo looks really good!

  8. Megan Says:

    Yum yum and YUM! I want this!! I didn’t know they even made whole wheat orzo. We just get the regular kind and my mom cooks it up with tons of butter and salt! Oops. Haha and how can your fam deny the magic of Ke$ha?!


  9. That looks awesome! I have been looking for something to use butternut squash in – you’re the best! 🙂


  10. i’ve never had butternut squash………that i know of!
    that dinner looks so good!


  11. This looks so yummy! I love all things lemon. Mmm…


  12. I must confess but lemon is my addiction also in summer, I eat it daily and in almost everything. YUMM!

  13. chelsey Says:

    Yum yum YUUUM!!! That looks so good – and yes, I think it is funny that some vegetables look like male genetalia.


  14. OMG I am a HUGE lemon addict! I put it on everything and it makes everytttthing better. I love it in sweet and savory dishes – on fish, potatoes, pasta, veggies and i love it in pies and as sorbet/gelto. And I even love lemonade!

    Horray for lemon!

  15. indiechic927 Says:

    Oh man I love this dish! It looks so very yummy! 🙂 I also hate lemonade but like lemons… It’s a weirs thing, but I understand! I would have to say that my guilty pleasure is definitely ice “cream”. I love to just eat it…I’m sure I could eat it as dinner if I really had my conscience shut off. 😉 it’s either ice cream or fruit. I eat fruit like all the time. Amurzing!

  16. SohdaLex Says:

    I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw this dish! My moms spinach and feta orzo is one of my favorite meals on the planet…second squash [in all forms] so this combination is a match made in heaven, I can’t wait to try it! My guilty pleasure would probably be roasted potatoes with ketchup………. 🙂

  17. Jessica Says:

    Is this really a guilty pleasure? If yours is Ke$ha, mine is Justin Timberlake. But that’s no secret.

    I know this isn’t a current post, but I am trying this tonight.


Leave a Reply

