Eats and Treats

August 12, 2010

What a wonderful night I’ve had!

Tonight, I met up with Caitlin, Megan, Jessie, Lori, Megan, Emma, and Cindi.

The location was one that I’m quickly becoming addicted to… Luna’s Living Kitchen! Remember this post? I swear, Luna’s is always a great place to eat. Always.

I’d been looking longingly….erm, glancing at the menu for a while before I left to dine with these beautiful ladies, and my mind was made up quite quickly. To be honest, I didn’t even need to look at the menu – I knew what I wanted. Every time I’ve gone there, I’ve been silly enough to not order the sprouted quinoa and kamut burger. Every time I go and don’t order it, I’m sure something bad happens. Maybe a tree or a kitten dies or something. Way to be morbid, Lauren.

Hey there, gorgeous.

Guys. Seriously. I’m not even kidding when I say that I am so glad I finally got this sucker. The bread was sprouted Ezekiel style, crusty and warm. There was a generous layer of garlic and avocado hummus and a sliced tomato as well, and then the glorious burger. Where to start? It was crunchy, warm, and pretty filling. The only complaint I had was that it fell apart pretty easily, so I had to eat it with a fork.

Oh yeah, and it was totally legit not being the only person photographing their food.

Sadly, after dindins the lucky legal ladies went to a nearby pub for drinkies and I headed home, ashamed of my underage ways. But THEN I stumbled upon something magical. Fantastic. Spectacular. If you follow me on Twitter, you might have seen my excitement.

The words “health” and “specialty food” got me.

It was AMAZING in this store. It was like Earth Fare, but the prices were at sea level instead of being at the top of the Empire State Building. There were rows and rows of everything you could ever need. There were so many products I wanted to buy, so many bulk bins, and so many friendly employees. The store also focused on local produce and was mostly vegetarian, vegan, and gluten free. I was a kid in a candy store. Okay… a cheap college student in less expensive health food shop. It doesn’t take much to keep me happy.

In the end, I got away with only spending $13.

Blurry but delicious.

I have a reason for all the bars, I promise. I love ’em. Along with dark chocolate, they’re my grocery store splurge.

In my bag:

-Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Larabar (HELL YES)

-Clif Protein Bars (Vanilla Almond and Cookies ‘n Cream)

-Vega smoothie packet (Vanilla Chai)

-Mini Raw Revolution food bar (Chocolate and Coconut)

-Late July Oreo knockoffs

-Justin’s Maple Almond Butter

-Justin’s Classic Peanut Butter

Reviews to come!

OB Note of the day:

Drive-up ATMs need lovin’, too.

What do you buy when you “splurge” at a grocery store?

17 Responses to “Eats and Treats”


  1. What a fun night! That burger looks awesome, and I want that store to be near me. It looks fantastic!!


  2. that burger does look incredible! looks like you had a great time……especially at the store you found! you have quite the self-control when it comes to purchases ๐Ÿ˜‰
    when i splurge it’s usually on a different kind of nutbutter or some “odd” ingredient i’ve never tried before.

  3. jassy Says:

    chocolates!!!

    i wish there were affordable specialty store here in the philippines…:(

  4. Tina Says:

    I just found your blog through Julie’s. I had to check it out because your blog name was too cute. I’m from GA so I can totally relate!

    Looks like a great evening with a bunch of great ladies. And how nice to have a restaurant option like that closeby.


  5. Sounds like a fun meet up! What great finds at the health store!


  6. That burger looks good! How could you not order that? Yum.

    When I “splurge” at the grocery store I get larabars, rice dream ice cream, dates and Maranatha PB (instead of the generic “natural” PB). Oh and the occasional snickers bar — they are so good!!!


  7. The restaurant looks really good! My splurge is typically organic berries or a tasty sounding tea.

  8. Megan Says:

    Best din everrr! I am totally hunting down that store. I want everything you got there!! Maybe we can go after yoga? Ohhh speaking of which I am tentatively babysitting. Ehh but I’ll let you know asap!


  9. Love your cute operation beautiful note! And the restaurant looks awesomeee ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think my biggest splurges are on things like coconut butter and olive oil – you simply need the best in those instances.


  10. It was nice to meet you!! Look forward in hanging out with you more ; )

  11. Faith Says:

    Oh man! Enjoy the CCCD larabar! Even the Whole Foods over in Tampa has failed me on this one! I guess it’s a cosmic way of keeping me from another foodie addiction? Bars and nut butters are my splurge too ๐Ÿ™‚


  12. Psssh. Like you NEED an excuse for all those bars ๐Ÿ™‚

    I sort of have a protein bar addiction, myself.

  13. kaztronomic Says:

    Oooh, that kamut and quinoa burger looks delish!

    You got all that for only thirteen bucks? Score! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I splurge on my almond butter, and about 99% of my budget goes to fresh produce. Doesn’t sound like a splurge, but I am such a fruit/veggie addict, that I can easily spend 20-40$ a week on fresh produce. ๐Ÿ˜€


  14. wow! the meal definitely looked like the BOMB!! โค
    plus im so envious of ur builder bar selection!! i hate having only the chocolate and peanut flavors to choose from!! urgh lol

    xoxo


  15. I want that burger! ๐Ÿ™‚

    My splurge is chocolate and coconut butter. I LOVE both of those…I think I need to try them together ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. simplyshaka Says:

    Good for you for getting out of the Healthy Home Market with spending so little, I go bananas when I go there (And I do love it more than Earth Fare!)


  17. When I splurge at grocery stores I usually buy some new olive oil or balsamic vinegar ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

