Goodbye, Summer

August 15, 2010

How do you tell when summer’s over? Here’s a clue.

How is all of this going to fit in the car?!

That’s most of my stuff for the dorm. My fridge is the only thing not pictured. The pasta sauce on the table is for dorm events (I cook for the dorm programs) and the TV on the table isn’t mine. Otherwise, all that crap that you see has to be moved 150 miles away. Oh gosh.

It’s official. Summer’s over. Today’s my last day in the Dirty Dirty before I stuff the car full and head up to mi escuela. On one hand, I’m really excited and ready for a new academic year, but on the other, I’m supa sad I’ll be leaving all of the wonderful bloggers I’ve met this summer.

I’m glad I have my car this semester, I’ll be making trips back to see everyone for sure.

I’m soaking up the last weekend at home by eating food I can’t normally eat at school. You see, my school has a ridiculous rule that no matter where you live on campus (even if it’s in an apartment with a full kitchen) you HAVE to get a meal plan. Ungodly amounts of money are spent on food that I can’t eat. If I were to move off campus to an apartment, it would be more expensive than living in a dorm…without my grocery bill. Faaantastic.

Trying to stay summery I made a beaautiful spinach salad that I later topped with balsamic reduction.

Strawbz + balsamic = yummo.

Fresh strawberries just scream summertime to me! In the mix was spinach, carrots, strawberries, blueberries, chickpeas, raisins, sunflower seeds, and one lone kidney bean that was hanging out with in my chickpea tupperware.

I don’t have access to a legit oven (the one oven we have in my dorm fails at life) so lately I’ve been loading up on my favorite…roasted veggies!

I don’t care what time of year it is or how hot it happens to be outside – I’ll eat these till they come out of my ears.

You have no idea how much I miss these when I’m not at home.

But it’s time to say goodbye to summer and hello to a brand new year. I’m moving in two days early so I can help move all the new residents into my dorm. I’m in a living-learning community and I’m the food loveseat (not chair, because there’s 2 people running it. I was so proud when I came up with that during a hall meeting.) so I’m also on the welcome committee to cook the welcome night dindins. Now you see why the bulk pasta sauce is relevant!

So at this time tomorrow I’ll be lugging all my things up stairs and squealing like the girl I am when I see my friends again. The next time I post it will be from a cozy new dorm room. Hopefully it won’t look like this.

What do you miss most about summer when it’s gone?

14 Responses to “Goodbye, Summer”

  1. Robin Says:

    My brain misses being relaxed!! engineering major .. haha.

  2. Anna Says:

    Aghhh, I can’t believe summer is almost over!!! BOO! 😦

  3. Rebecca Says:

    Aw mayne, cookin’ at your dorm – I bet you are wayyy appreciated, haha. My move in day is week after next and I am so. so. NERVOUS! But excited – I’m going to miss the living, cooking & eating whatever I please at home. But honestly.. I’m bored & so ready for my first year!!


  4. Hihi, looks like you have quite a lot of stuff 😀

    I usually miss the long summer evenings, we have daylight until 10-11 pm until end of August 🙂

  5. Megan Says:

    I miss making all my own yummy food! Haha and I love the pic from Luna’s where I am leaning over for no reason at all =P

  6. Monique@She's Going The Distance Says:

    How far is your school from your home?? And ugh, meal plans. Ours was basically an all-you-can-eat buffet with a froyo machine. Hello freshman 15 haha…. I only lived in the dorms one year, and then moved on to beachfront university apartments the next three years. You can see why that was such an easy choice 🙂

    Have fun this school year!! How much longer do you have until graduation?!?!


  7. Good luck getting settled in again! I miss the school life with it’s defined beginnings and endings. Summer break is but a distant memory…. sigh…..


  8. I miss that going back to school feeling!

    Here in AZ, the summer’s not quite over, but I’ll tell you what I won’t miss, 100+ degree temperatures! Bring it on fall!

  9. mysweetseason Says:

    I miss having free time! I’ve been swamped in work and cross country practices since I started school!

  10. Faith Says:

    I’m not going to lie, I’m a bit down that I’m not also moving back into a dorm right now :/ I’m excited to have graduated but there’s a huge part of me that just wasn’t ready to let go of that part of my life.

  11. simplyshaka Says:

    Lucky girl, I want to be back in college. The real world just sucks sometimes.

  12. kaztronomic Says:

    Dude, your school fails for forcing you to get a meal plan! I hear a lot of schools do that now, these days. Urgh. That would annoy the heck out of me! It sorta makes me glad that I’m just going to a community college and commute daily by bus. 😛

    I guess the thing I’ll miss the most about summer is being bored. I’ve been so bored all summer long, and I know when the stress of the semester hits, plus working part-time, I’ll be like, “OnGzzz, bring back the boredom!” Hah.

  13. Heather Says:

    Hope you’re getting settled in! How are those glow in the dark stars? 😉
    I still have some up in my childhood bedroom that I put there when I was 16!!
    When summer’s over, I miss being able to let my daughter sleep in.


  14. Oooh, that’s one thing I don’t miss is school. I just got my MBA 3 years ago (I’m 37!) I did it all online, with the second half of my BS. Have fun, though! I can’t wait to see what you’ll be up to back at school 😉


Leave a Reply

