POM….just for breakfast?

August 17, 2010

A few weeks ago, Ryan from POM Wonderful shot an e-mail my way offering a free case of juice. (Thanks again, Ryan!) I was anxious to get my juice because I’d never had it before. Being the cheap arse student that I am, I didn’t want to buy it in case I didn’t like it – the stuff is expensive around here!

When I returned home from my Florida trip with the fam, I found our fantabulous house sitting friend had placed a ginormous box in the fridge. I thought maybe when Ryan said they were offering me a case they’d send 3 or 4 bottles. But they sent me 8! Win.

So I’ve been busy experimenting with POM lately. The fails include:

-POM pancakes

-POM + coffee

-POM french toast

Apparently I’m in a breakfast-y rut with this juice. Anyone got any recipes I can try that don’t involve oatmeal?

I ask because the successes include:

-Girlie Pink and Purple Oatmeal

1/4 cup oats, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup POM, flax seeds, blueberries.

It’s quite feminine.

-POMsicles

Fill your popsicle molds halfway with pomegranate juice and fill the other half with something sweet to balance the tartness. I used mango juice…om nom nom.

-Fruit Oatmeal Bars

2 cups oats, strawberries, blueberries, banana, mango, POM juice, and flaxseed.

Combine all ingredients in a big bowl and then spread into a flat layer on a baking sheet. It should be quite sticky – if it isn’t, add more flax to help things stay together. Bake at  350 for about an hour, or until the edges are crisp.

-POM parfait

All I did was soak the strawberries in POM (not kahlua this time, sorry :P) and mix some into the yogurt as well. Then layered it up and enjoyed.

Overall, I really love this pomegranate juice. Straight up, it’s a little tart for my taste so I like mixing it with mango juice. I love the color it gives to things, the health benefits, and the great generosity of the company doesn’t hurt either. 😉

Have you ever tried POM Wonderful? What’s your favorite way to use it?

9 Responses to “POM….just for breakfast?”

  1. Heather Says:

    I’ve never tried POM juice, but heard lots of good things about it.
    Where my hubby grew up in Louisiana, he had a pomegranate tree in his yard! How cool would that be?

  2. Robin Says:

    I;ve had POM when my mom bought it, but not for awhile. It’s so damn expensive!

    Those pomsicles look hella awesome though!! And I love the idea of mixing it w/ mango juice! Anything mango makes my heart flutter.


  3. I’ve never tried using POM in baked goods or oats. I’m a big fan of it in hot green tea. Works wonders for a cold, so definitely keep some around.

  4. Ann Claire Says:

    I haven’t tried POM wonderful yet but have been really wanting to. Though one time I did have POM frozen yogurt at Red Mango and that was delicious! The POM popsicles sound really good.


  5. I have had POM. I had a case like yours! and I agree…WIN! I made pomaritas with it. (like margarita?) 🙂 I don’t mind the tart taste, I’m just not a big juice drinker, I would rather drink water and eat my calories. I LOVE the idea of the pomsicles, though! My kids might even eat those…:)


  6. haha i guess pom and alcohol must be fail-proof ❤ … hey out of the not so great creations comes genius ones!! ❤

  7. Josh Healy Says:

    Hi, hope it’s OK to contact you here. We would love to include your blog on our giveaway search engine: Giveaway Scout (http://www.giveawayscout.com). Have a look and if interested, use our online form to add your blog (http://www.giveawayscout.com/addblog/ ). thanks, Josh


  8. Sadly we don’t have POM in Finland but it’s all over blogworld and I’m curious to try it someday too 🙂

  9. kaztronomic Says:

    Okay, so google reader is NOT telling me when you update. Dude, wth, Google? -.- Sorry for the late reply!

    I’ve never tried POM, but I’m not sure if I’d like it — however, your versatile recipes makes it sound like it’d be yummy in just about anything!


Leave a Reply

