Break the Fast

August 25, 2010

Good morning!

I swear, this is the alarm I wake up to every day now.

So you know what’s nasty? Eating cafeteria food every day. Living on campus (AKA having a required meal plan) is lame. You know that food’s not good for you, especially at breakfast. How can you call processed sausage “meat,” fake scrambled eggs (they use instant egg powder, nasty much?) and butter filled grits a great way to start the day? I don’t know about you, but there’s no way I could do that, even if I was able to eat that shiz. The whole “roll out of bed and drink a cup of coffee for breakfast before running to class” thing is not for me. And don’t even get me started on skipping breakfast all together. If you do that, you just lost a ton of cool points.Β So what do I start my day with? What keeps my full through class, work, dorm events, and a busy social life?

It sure as hell ain’t cafeteria grits, y’all.

Fruit and veggie smoothies!

Soy/Coconut milk yogurt with oatmeal and fruit.

Banana freaking pancakes.

CHOCOLATE banana pancakes. Seriously, why wouldn’t you start your day with these?!

Weetabix with maple syrup, almond milk, and strawbz. AKA the cereal laxative.

Aaaaand my absolute morning favorite! I’m sure this beautiful girl would approve…. oatmeal!

The stuff truly is wondrous. It’s such a blank canvas. You can make anything.

From PB&J oats…

to green tea oatmeal…

…to strawberry banana oatmeal..

…and even cinnamon raisin oatmeal so good it’ll make your tastebuds dance!

You could even make chocolate covered strawberry oats. Katie approved and all!

So you see, if eating a healthy breakfast in a dorm room is possible, it’s possible anywhere! Here are my top tips for a fantastic, fulling, and delicious breakfast.

1) Go for fiber! Fiber helps keep you full as well as helping you…well, you know. Adding fruit to your cereal can be a great boost, nutrition-wise. I think bananas are epic in nearly everything breakfast-y.

2) Fatten it up. Add a glob of peanut butter to your oats, go for coconut milk in your cereal, heck, melt a square of dark chocolate to anything. (Fellow cheap college kids: you can usually find peanut/almond/soynut butter in your caf and pilcher as much as you need!) Fats are like fiber – they’ll keep you full for longer because they have more calories per gram. Remember: they are your friend!

3) Swap out your sugary cereals for their healthier, 100% whole grain, refined sugar-free counterparts. Seriously. Stop eating Sugar Smacks and Cookie Crisp. Come on, man. Those don’t even sound healthy. If my cereals contain any of the following, they are out like Seacrest: high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated anything, [refined] sugar, refined grains, artificial colors/flavors, dyes, preservatives, or chemicals. These little devils leave you craving more and hungry with a headache later. They’re the reason so many kids fall asleep in lecture.

4) Make sure you have 100% juice if you must drink it. Fresh pressed, unpasteurized orange juice is a winner. You’ll get a crap ton of vitamin C as well as a serving of fruit. Fresh apple juice tastes so much better and has so much more going for it. When buying juice, remember this: the murkier your juice is, the less processed it is.

5) Plan the night before. Set out everything you’ll need for breakfast the night in advance. My mum has done this for years and it’s never failed her. Maybe try makingΒ this stunning gal’s overnight oats. Simply put your oatmeal, milk, banana, and whatever else you want in a bowl and let it sit overnight. Viola! Breakfast will be waiting for you once you’re ready to eat. If you’re gonna be on the go, make a green monster and put it in a portable coffee mug. A little planning goes a long way.

6) Wait until you are hungry to eat! This is probably my favorite tip. Breakfast should be savored, not shoveled down your throat because you didn’t plan ahead or because you have to leave the house in a hurry. If you’ve followed the whole “plan ahead” idea, you should be able to eat when you’re hungry, not when your schedule says to.

7) Buy a blender. Do it. I invested in a single serve blender to make breakfast smoothies and it’s super convenient in my room as well as on the go between classes (the top swaps out and it becomes a cup!). It was cheap, definitely under 20 bucks, and it’s lasted quite a while. Smoothies are a great way to sneak in fruits and veggies, especially if you tend to consume a lot of *ahem* beverages or find yourself eating too many slices of pizza or bowls of ramen.

So there you have it. What I do for breakfast, and how to start the day off right.

Of course, it won’t start out right unless you have the same alarm as me. πŸ˜‰

What’s your best “healthy breakfast” tip?

18 Responses to “Break the Fast”

  1. Megan Says:

    I HAVE THAT SAME RINGTON! Do you have a droid?? Haha anyway cafeteria food does such which is why I’m glad I live in my sorority house! Oh and is it weird I actually like those fake eggs? Gross, I know. All those brek photos made me drool… I have been doing the jazzed up oatmeal thing every day so far! Hope college is going GREAT love!


  2. ::sigh:: I wish I was a healthy eater the first two years of college – but I wasn’t!! I was on the “points counting, calorie counting, everything must be fat free” plan. Not even cool.

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree Says:

    Beautiful Pictures by the way, but I love making muffins for breakfast. They are so easy! And a bfast tip I have is to eat some kind of protein in the morning! It helps me feel so much better and stronger throughout the day. It is so easy to spread a bit of nut butter on some hearty bread or a muffin or even a piece of fruit. I also put protein powder in oatmeal and smoothies.


  4. I don’t know what other schools are like, but I swear there was not one decent meal served in my caf during undergrad. I ate a salad EVERY day for lunch. I think I ate coffee and fruit for breakfast. It was miserable and I was so glad to move off campus my sophomore year.


  5. Those are some great tips, I wish I had thought of this stuff while I was in college. If you have a mandatory meal plan, can you at least grab some fruit from the caf for your smoothies?


  6. oh my everything looks great! Great tips for eating good healthy breakfasts! I agree having fiber is key, for so many reasons ; )

  7. kaztronomic Says:

    Excellent advice! I never lived on campus, but if I had, I would have loved to known all this stuff.

    My best breakfast tip really just echoes yours: add protein, fiber, and fat, and bulk it up a bit so it sticks around awhile. You don’t want to be the one interrupting class because your tummy is growling so loudly. (Been there, done that, was *mortified*.)

    What advice do you have for students who don’t always get the chance to wait until they’re hungry? I’m not always hungry when I wake up, but I have to eat in order to, ahem, digest. >.>; Then there’s the fact that I’ll have 3 back-to-back classes for nearly five hours. I’ll be cramming in food between classes, hungry or not, to prevent hunger from hitting in class. What do you suggest for me? πŸ˜€


    • oh my gosh i used to do the same thing. xP if you’re not exactly super hungry when you wake up, why not have a banana or something to help you *cough* wake up?
      then when that’s digested and you’re hungry, have a big ole smoothie to go or whatever breakfast you packed. i’m guessing a later breakfast will help you stay full during your back to back classes! i’d say eat a snack with a good amount of fat in it. don’t be stingy. we’re talking fiber + fat + protein. apple and PB! sabra hummus + carrots! CHOCOLATE!

      • kaztronomic Says:

        Thank you! I tried your suggestion, and went with a smaller breakfast and a heavier snack later, and turns out my tummy liked that just fine, and no tummy pain/cramps later on. Thanks, girl. πŸ˜€


  8. My residence hall served shark one day…. um, I guess that’s what I got for going to school near the beach?!?! haha.

    I didn’t touch it. I think I just opted for the salad bar and then the pasta bar that day. Hey freshman 15!

  9. Kiersten Says:

    I couldn’t do the meal plan when I lived in a dorm. The food was so awful that I canceled the meal plan after only a few weeks of being there. Aside from being gross, there wasn’t many healthy options either. It was the typical sugary cereals, hot dogs, hamburgers, pizza, etc. There was a salad bar, which rarely got restocked and barely had anything in it. Talk about disappointing! I had to learn to get creative with my dorm meals after that. Now that I have my own kitchen, I sure as hell don’t miss it.

  10. Theresa Says:

    Oh em gee!!! I truly love all of these great options! Kudos to you!!! =) I’m more of an on the run breakfast eater. Granola bars and fruit are my usual go-to-meal. UNLESS, I have time to actually cook in which case it’s usually some form of oatmeal. YUM!


  11. I love your pictures in this post, they made me drool! πŸ˜€

  12. Kelly Says:

    I so wish I would have eaten a healthy breakfast in college, like you. I usually ate a really tiny breakfast or nothing at all. I could never go back to that. Breakfast is the reason I get out of bed every morning. πŸ™‚


  13. Yum, I want some chocolate ‘naner pancakes!


  14. Maintain up the great work mate. This website article shows how well you comprehend and know this subject.


Leave a Reply

