Break Away

October 12, 2010

Oh, how I love five day weekends. It’s the last 24 hours of fall break. This means it’s the last 24 hours of me procrastinating on studying for four, yes four, midterms that I have this week. I spent a good chunk of my weekend in Chapel Hill getting speeding tickets (those cops are sneaky as hell), being forced to watch Twilight (I hatehatehate those movies and books), stuffing my face with Mellow Mushroom pizza (hello, Daiya!) and last but certainly not least, going to Whole Foods for the first time in my life. Actually, I had a [rich] foodie’s dream day. I went to Earth Fare, Whole Foods, and Trader Joe’s all in the same day.

Sad speeding ticket face:

Yay for court dates.

I don’t even want to know how much this is going to cost me, between needing an attorney (I can’t make it as my court date is during a final exam) and the fact that I was going…well… let’s just say I was going a lot over the limit. But it will be okay in the end I know, so I’ve decided that I’m not going to let this affect me. After tweeting my speeding ticket anger away, Happy Whole Foods face ensued. But I’m a bad blogger and didn’t capture it. I realized as I walked into the store that I had forgotten my camera. Trust me, there was madness. I don’t know how I only spent $17, hot bar included. Oh God..the hot bar. Don’t even get me started. I had some of the banginest (that’s a word) tofu EVER. I am sad and happy that I don’t have a WH store back home. Happy because I’d never have any money, but sad because it’s Whole Foods, man.

I hope Heaven has a Whole Foods.

Other treats include Sweet and Sara marshmallows, a squeezie pack of Justin’s chocolate hazelnut butta (!!!), Daiya, and a sh!t ton of chocolate. I also purchased something I’ve had my eyes on for a while…

I’ve only heard praise for this stuff. With the nutritionals, it was no surprise. Lotsa protein and fiber and goodies inside. I’ve been using Trader Joe’s chalktastic soy protein powder for my green monsters, so it goes without saying that a change was welcome. I’ve also been avoiding cafeteria food like the plague, so a smoothie for lunch sounded delicious the other day.

Post-gym lunch.

Into the blender went 2 very ripe bananas, a dash of vanilla almond milk, ice ice baby, and Vega’s Vanilla Chai optimzer.

Faaaavorite mug!

Yum. Green.

I really wish I could say I loved this. I want to say that it was an explosion of vanilla-y, banana-y goodness. All my favorite flavors were there, but something was off. I took about four sips before having to pour the rest down the sink. It was just so chalky! Maybe I did something wrong? I’ll give Vega another chance sometime, but not for a while. I’ve lost my faith in protein powders.

And cops.

Have you ever had a run-in with the cops? When I was 16, I got pulled over for the first time for running a stop sign. I turned on the water works and got away with a warning. Also, what’s your favorite brand of protein powder?

6 Responses to “Break Away”

  1. Kelly Says:

    My vey first speeding ticket was just outside of Chapel Hill heading home for winter break in college. State troopers get me everytime. I’ve only had one other actual ticket since then.


  2. The only way I can describe vega is “very green”. I didn’t like their products either. I missed you! Glad to see you around!

  3. Faith Says:

    Oh lets not even talk about crappy cop run-ins..I got a $120 ticket for having my seatbelt underneath my armpit instead of over my shoulder…I mean, it was ON for goodness sakes! On top of that, he told me I had 90 days to pay it (instead of 30) so I would up with a late fee…suffice it to say that sucked! Bigtime! Soz about the speeding ticket…at least whole foods kinda made up for it 🙂

  4. Megan Says:

    Boooo cops suck sometimes! TJs, WF, and mellow mush = best things EVER. Glad you enjoyed the hill!


  5. Hey! I’ve actually been pulled over 3 times but luckily haven’t gotten a ticket yet (I think I should get an academy award for crying haha). I just got a parking ticket from an unpaid meter on campus though 😦 FAIL.
    I’ve had my eye on the Vega shake, too. I actually just bought protein powder from TJ’s by Aria. I LOVE it. I’ve been eating it in my oats like crazy and have been dying to make a green monster with it!
    Have a great week and good luck on your MTs!

  6. Aly Says:

    I LOVE YOU! 🙂 And speeding tickets do SUCK! P.S. I am really sad that I don’t have a Whole Foods store near me either. I went into Whole Foods and was like *drooooooool*. I didn’t know where to start! I can’t wait to hit that up again. (; It’s muh faveeee. One day I will live near one… one…day… (:


Leave a Reply

