One of Those Days

October 17, 2010

Sometimes, you wake up and it’s one of those mornings. Whether it’s because you had a long night at work, pulled an all nighter in the library, or because you had one too many glasses of passion fruit rum/apple schnapps/vodka/OJ. Not that I did that.

Either way, there’s a great solution to a crappy morning. And it involves chocolate. Seriously, could life get any better? A lot of people that I know turn to junk foods when they’ve got a hangover..maybe now I can convert them. I rely on green monsters to get me through rough mornings, but sometimes a girl just ย needs herself some chocolate.

The Ultimate Hangover Cure: Chocolate Chip Banana Pancakes

Serves two hungry, lazy, hungover friends

1 1/3 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup chocolate flavored non-dairy milk (I used almond)

1/2 cup water

1 1/2 T pure vanilla extract

2 T maple syrup or agave nectar

1 t baking powder

cocoa or carob powder to taste

1 banana, sliced

a handful (or two or three!) of chocolate chips

 

Slice up your banana while you heat up a non-stick griddle or skillet. Put it at about medium.

The batter is insanely easy. Just mix everything together (sans bananas and chocolate chips) and then pour it onto your griddle. Once you’ve done that, press in your bananas and chocolate chips. They’ll get all melty and delish as they heat through. Cook the pancakes for five minutes on each side, or until the bottoms are cooked.

Top with more chocolate chips and maybe a dollop of fantasticness.

Just don’t put any vodka in the batter and you’ll be set.

What’s your favorite drinkie and what’s your go-to hangover meal?

8 Responses to “One of Those Days”

  1. Robin Says:

    I’ve never had passion fruit rum but anything with apple schnapps HAS to be good… nice! wanna come to nyc and make me beautiful, tasty pancakes when i’m hungover?! :p


  2. Well I haven’t been hungover in a long long time (unless you count the morning after my wedding, but I am convinced it was my lack of sleep that made me feel crappy ๐Ÿ™‚ ) – but when I did get my drink on, it was alla bout the greasy food the next day. The greasier the better. In fact, hungovers could be prevented by eating greasy food before bedtime.

  3. megan Says:

    fj;hfskjdfs pleasee come to CH and make these for me?! preferably on a friday morning after a thursday night mixer? haha they look fabbb!


  4. Chocolate pancakes?! I’m going to start drinking now, so I can have those tomorrow, haha. What a great start to the day ๐Ÿ™‚


  5. I think I need those this week on Sunday after a girl’s night out ๐Ÿ˜‰


  6. What a great blog you have!!! SOOOOO inspiring to see other healthy ideas here in the South!! Thank you so much for sharing your story as well! Totally adding you to my ‘Blogs that Inspire’ and def going to make these cookie!

  7. Errign Says:

    My favorite drink is gin & tonic and while I haven’t been hungover in a VERY long time, I used to LOVE those old el paso taco kits when I lived in Ireland. I would literally wake, feeling like total crap and walk a couple miles to the store to buy taco ingredients, looking like a hot mess, of course.

  8. ashaustrew Says:

    I know this is an old post, but I just stumbled on your blog and I’ve been reading back through older entries. Those pancakes look SO delicious. My favorite drink is a gin & tonic, but right now I’m pregnant, so I’ll just have to eat tons of chocolate chip & banana pancakes without the hangover. Maybe they work for morning sickness, too!


Leave a Reply

