Goals

November 26, 2010

I’m not one for New Years Resolutions. I never keep them, and I can’t help feeling like I’m setting lofty goals and impossible standards for myself and never matching up. It’s not that I’m not good at doing what I put my head to, because I went vegetarian and vegan overnight, and I happen to think I’m a pretty good “go getter.” But in all honesty, I think New Years Resolutions are just a way for gyms to up their membership quotas and for Lean Cuisine to make a crap ton of profit.

That’s why I’m making a promise to myself.

I don’t want to pursue some unattainable goal, and my promise doesn’t involve being X size or losing Y amount of weight. First off, I’m going to stop wearing myself so thin. I’ve got 2 jobs, classes, I’m a member of Eta Sigma Gamma (the national health education honorary), I have an active role in my dorm as the food/events committee head, I’m the vice president of my school’s vegetarian society, and on top of all that, I still try to work out 6 days a week and have a social life. Because of all of this, I’ve learned so much about myself in the past few months. I’m stronger than I think I am, and I shouldn’t be afraid to get out there and try new things. I believe that the learning never ends, which is why I’m making leaps and bounds with my bucket list…

That’s right I’m in the market for a half marathon. There will be no time goals or pressure. I’m not trying to finish under anything other than my best and the only thing I want to walk away with is pride. I’m going to begin training once I’ve picked my race, which will hopefully be in the spring of 2011. Good timing, because in July and August I’ll be packing my bags…

My university offers a service learning course in Zambia. There’s a crazy interview process, not to mention this trip ain’t cheap. But if all works out, I’ll be doing clinic work, treating TB and HIV/AIDS patients, teaching adult literacy classes, and throwing myself headfirst into an entirely different culture. I’m going to immerse myself into the people, the lifestyle, the culture, and drink it all in.

I’m going to experience life again.

So what is this promise to myself? It’s simple. I want to live each day to the fullest. I want to live without regrets, explore, and I want to let go of things that are out of my control. Life goes on. I don’t have to exercise or obsess over something silly like food, and I certainly shouldn’t feel guilty if I take a rest day. My life doesn’t depend on how much I eat or how my pants fit. I shouldn’t let these things determine how I live each day. I promise to live beyond the scale and nutrition facts. There’s a world beyond my own, and it doesn’t rely on what I eat.

So I’m going to let it go and know that I can handle whatever comes my way.

And I’ll let my Lean Cuisine stock pay for my flight to Zambia. 😉

5 Responses to “Goals”


  1. Wow!that course in Zambia sounds like an experience of a lifetime.I say: Go for it! It will be worth it! Also going out of your comfort zone / home / home country usually make you see life in a very different way, not to mention how much you will learn about life and yourself.


  2. What an experience going to Zambia would be!

  3. jenna Says:

    love your blog! come check out mine 🙂
    jenna

  4. Ashley Says:

    Congrats on the half-marathon goal! I’m running my first half this January and, like you, I’ve not imposed any time goals on myself. The goal for this half-marathon is just to FINISH! : ) Then, maybe I can do some speed work and set some timed goals for future races.

  5. Kate Says:

    Good luck with the Zambia application! I spent a summer there, building houses in a rural village with frequent trips to markets and even a visit at an AIDS clinic. It’s the kind of eye-opening experience that fills you with gratitude. And it will give you a lot to think about on your long runs, as you prep for a 1/2 marathon!


Leave a Reply

